Paint node <no object selected>

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
jazinator
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:48 am

Paint node <no object selected>

#1

Post by jazinator » Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:58 am

Hello,
Fusion Studio on Mojave.

When using the paint node in a composition I noticed the following behavior.
After saving and closing a composition, when I re-open it the paint controls are gone, it displays a <No object selected> message. The paint strokes appear to still be active part of the composition, but they cannot be accessed/modified anymore in the tool control panel.
Any idea?
Thanks
j
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1471
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Paint node <no object selected>

#2

Post by SirEdric » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:32 am

The strokes are modifiers of the actual paint tool.
When you click on the Modifier Tab, they should all be there and selectable.
Also, most of the strokes should be selectable directly in the view by dragging a box around their rough extent.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3030
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Paint node <no object selected>

#3

Post by SecondMan » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:46 am

A similar question was discussed in this topic.

Essential to remember is that there are different stroke types in Fusion. Here are the most important ones as per the manual:

Stroke
The ‘standard’ Stroke. Fully animatable and editable. Might become slow if hundreds of
strokes are used in an image; for huge amounts of strokes it is better to use MultiStroke.

Multistroke
Perfect for those 100-strokes-per-frame retouching paint jobs like removing trackingmarkers.
Much faster than the Stroke, but not editable later on.

Polyline Stroke
A fully editable stroke based on animatable Polylines. Can be connected to existing
polylines like Masks or Animation Paths.

Hope this helps. Moving this topic to the Fusion forum, as this is not a bug... :)

User avatar
jazinator
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:48 am

Re: Paint node <no object selected>

#4

Post by jazinator » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:08 pm

Thank you guys. Now it makes sense. I appreciate your prompt help. :D