How do you copy values from one node to another?

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
TerryPXM
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:53 am
Been thanked: 1 time

How do you copy values from one node to another?

#1

Post by TerryPXM » Sat Nov 30, 2019 2:58 pm

I've been been struggling with this for a while, it might be really simple but I can't figure it out. I know you can always copy/paste the numerical values or use expressions but how would you do it if you wanted to copy a gradient from one node to another?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1308
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 6
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#2

Post by Midgardsormr » Sat Nov 30, 2019 4:23 pm

Copy the node you want to get the values from, then right-click the target node and choose Paste Settings. Any control that has the same name as one in the source node will receive the values. Including gradients. I just tested by copying a ramp from a Background into a Fast Noise, and it worked fine.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 34 times
Contact:

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#3

Post by intelligent machine » Sat Nov 30, 2019 6:24 pm

To add you @Midgardsormr's response:
You can select and copy a source node and the select the target node and right-click the label of an individual attribute and paste just that setting.

To test this, create two fresh background nodes and change all the default attributes on just one of them, in the flow, with that one selected, copy, then select the other and right-click individual labels in the 'inspector' and paste the settings for several attributes one at a time.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2053
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#4

Post by SirEdric » Sun Dec 01, 2019 12:47 am

To add to this, Fusion will always 'scan' any tool you copy setting to for control names that are in the tool you copy settings from.
A very neat side effect for this is the Replace Tool function.
Imagine you set up a Merge adjusted or even animated center, angle, size, etc.
Eventually you realize that it would be much better to have a Transform instead of a Merge to utilize the transformed image somewhere else in the flow.
Just RMB on the Merge, select Replace Tool, click on Transform, and *all* controls of the Merge that also appear in the Transform will be taken to the new tool.
A real timesaver!

User avatar
gez
Fusioneer
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:21 pm
Location: Argentina
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#5

Post by gez » Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:59 am

Not exactly what's asked but I love this related tip:
You can create instance of a node and the "de-instance" individual properties.
That way you can have an exact clone of some node, connected with the original (all values linked) except the ones you de-instance. An instance with overrides.
It's priceless.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2053
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 160 times
Contact:

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#6

Post by SirEdric » Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:23 am

Plus, you can even re-instance selected parameters...:-)

User avatar
TerryPXM
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:53 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How do you copy values from one node to another?

#7

Post by TerryPXM » Mon Dec 02, 2019 9:17 pm

Hi guys thank you very much for the tips! very useful. The merge / transform example is crazy good that happened to me once but I wish I knew this back then. I though the replace tool didn't do anything special but now my mind is blown.