Continue Multistroke

Moderator: SecondMan

flowfency
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:35 am

Continue Multistroke

#1

Post by flowfency » Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:19 am

Is there a way to continue a previously made multistroke?
I was adding more stuff to the paint tool and now I want to continue painting my frist multistroke but everytime I click the tool buttons in the viewer, fusion starts a new multistroke.

Any clue?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1466
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Continue Multistroke

#2

Post by SirEdric » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:00 am

The multiStroke is not editable once it's done painting.
By this it becomes extremely fast to render, but if you need editable strokes, go with the regular stroke instead.
The only way editing e.g. the duration of an existing multiStroke is to copy/paste the tool into a textEditor,
and change the values there.

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Continue Multistroke

#3

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Sat Dec 08, 2018 6:33 am

I think the OP's question is: why can't I continue painting in my original multistroke? (which basically is a container where lots of strokes are hidden)
As long as it's selected you can add strokes to it, but why doesn't it add more strokes when 'activating' the original multistroke again? (i.e. filling up the container)

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1466
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Continue Multistroke

#4

Post by SirEdric » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:24 am

Because "The multiStroke is not editable once it's done painting."....:-)
Once deselected it's considered "done".

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Continue Multistroke

#5

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Sat Dec 08, 2018 8:40 am

I didn't know adding strokes was considered editing. And since you can change frames and continue painting, I figured this might be possible as well.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1466
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Continue Multistroke

#6

Post by SirEdric » Sat Dec 08, 2018 9:12 am

Once you add a new multiStroke, the old mS has "lost focus" so to say.
Quite similar to how the actual strokes in the mS work.
Paint. Change the colour. Nothing happens to the stroke you just painted, because it lost focus.
Paint again. The new stroke gets painted in the colour you just chose.
You can't go back to "older" strokes in the mS and modify them.
Same with the mS Tool. Once it's deactivated it's done.

flowfency
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:35 am

Re: Continue Multistroke

#7

Post by flowfency » Sat Dec 08, 2018 11:09 am

Thanks. Doesnt make any sense to me but at least it is clear now!

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1466
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 31 times
Contact:

Re: Continue Multistroke

#8

Post by SirEdric » Sat Dec 08, 2018 2:25 pm

You could go with 'regular' strokes to have editable (by all means!) individual strokes.
However, with thousands of strokes that will drastically increase render time...

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3025
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 19 times
Contact:

Re: Continue Multistroke

#9

Post by SecondMan » Sat Dec 08, 2018 10:10 pm

flowfency wrote:
Sat Dec 08, 2018 5:19 am
everytime I click the tool buttons in the viewer, fusion starts a new multistroke

Don't press the tool button in the viewer :)

Every time you press that button, you add a new Multistroke. So it will close the one you're working on, and create a new one.

As long as you don't press that button, you can go back to the paint tool and your single Multistroke will still be the one that is active. Just continue painting and you're all good.

Like this example below. I go in and out of the Paint tool, do stuff in other tools, but there's only ever a single Multistroke:


Image


It doesn't work across saving files though. So once you save your file and re-open it, that's that. New Multistroke it is.