Thank you everyone and Happy New Year!

The Thanks scores for 2019 are in, make sure to read all about last year's highlights -> here <- !

(SOLVED) FusionRenderNode - Linux, no display for X11

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
theotheo
Fusionista
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 1 time

(SOLVED) FusionRenderNode - Linux, no display for X11

#1

Post by theotheo » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 am

Hi gang,

Trying to set up some headless nodes on linux. Running ./FusionRenderNode I get back:

"No protocol specified
QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display :0.0
Aborted (core dump)"

Trying to specify displays like "offscreen" and "xcb" instead of :0.0 doesn't bring me any closer sadly.

Ubuntu 18.04
Fusion Render Node 9.0.1 (from 12th Sept 2017!)

Anyone had any luck running FusionRenderNode on CLIs ?

-t
Last edited by theotheo on Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#2

Post by AndrewHazelden » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:45 am

Hi @theotheo
theotheo wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:22 am
Anyone had any luck running FusionRenderNode on CLIs ?

You need an X11 virtual frame buffer to make a 100% headless Linux CLI setup work. Check out this WSL post by @Jan Rogowski:

viewtopic.php?p=13141#p13141


If you are lazy and want a quick simple solution to let you do Linux Fusion Render Node usage, you could put the worlds cheapest AMD low profile GPU off eBay for less then ~$35 USD in the rackmount render nodes just to provide minimal OpenGL and OpenGL hardware support. It's your call.

Since I only have 111 render nodes to manage, I find occasionally (like once in a blue moon) for troubleshooting it can be handy to be able to connect a monitor to one of the render nodes to visually see why something is glitching in a comp. This lets you catch things with error dialogues you wouldn't see error logs for from an SSH session.

In Ubuntu 14.04 LTS I just start Fusion Render Node up in the Upstart script at $HOME/.config/upstart/run_once.conf

Code: Select all

start on startup
task
script

# echo "[Starting up the Fusion Render Node]"
sudo /opt/BlackmagicDesign/FusionRenderNode9/FusionRenderNode &

# Start the RenderPalClient
# sudo /opt/rpclientcmd/rpclientcmd &

# Write out the date and time when the script ran
echo `date` >> /root/run-once.txt &

end script

Also, on Linux render nodes, make sure no invisible files that start with a "." in the name are placed inside your Fusion Fuse:/ PathMap folders. I have had issues with macOS file sharing writing .DS_Store and other "." named files into the Linux based the Fuse folder which causes Fusion Render Node to jump off a pier at startup. It took a long time to figure out the issue which was only detectable by connecting a monitor and seeing a Fusion Render Node warning message. :)

User avatar
theotheo
Fusionista
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#3

Post by theotheo » Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:00 am

Much appreciated Andrew! Thanks for the link, I did a search but that post eluded me some how!

No need for low profile cards and monitors, my blades are all VMs running on my cluster so I have direct access to the displays via the cluster web Gui. Nuke, Blender and Houdini are working just fine. For some reason Fusion needs to connect to a display tho....

Ill keep you posted once Ive solved it.

-t

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#4

Post by Kristof » Sat Jan 05, 2019 2:22 am

You should check the archive, Cédric discussed this with Peter sometime around December 2017, I believe.

User avatar
theotheo
Fusionista
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#5

Post by theotheo » Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:33 am

*beep* archive doesn't go back further than Jan 2018 for me :(

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#6

Post by Kristof » Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:57 am

I'll let him know and try to have him respond in here.

User avatar
Cedric
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:26 am
Answers: 1
Location: Ghent

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#7

Post by Cedric » Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:15 am

Hi @theotheo

What andrew said is correct. Considering Fusion needs a display to connect to and you are using X as window manager, you will need to virtualize it.
Luck for you, xvfb exists. This is what we're using at Grid. Check the manual below. You will need to set the right flags for rendering purposes and we had to set a static resolution for a virtual monitor as well (which does not match the real monitors here ofc). Once you set everything, the xvfb-run just requires the real command to be passed.

xvfb-run man: http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/xen ... run.1.html

Example:

Code: Select all

xvfb-run -a -s "-screen 0 1400x900x24 -ac +extension RENDER +extension GLX +render -noreset" FUSIONRENDERNODECMDHERE
Cheers
Cedric

User avatar
theotheo
Fusionista
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: FusionRenderNode - No protocol specified - Seg faults

#8

Post by theotheo » Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:03 am

Hi Cedric,

Cheers dude, many thanks! Using xvfb did the trick, all up and running now. Had to battle Fusion running cmd args in Windows differently than on Windows for half a day too. But all is running fine now.

Thanks again.