Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

[Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 8
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#46

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:57 pm

Midgardsormr wrote:
Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:24 am
Is that not already the default? I don't think I've changed any prefs yet in my home install, and it's 1 frame/foot there.
Checks setup.

Right. So it is. I must have mistyped something in the frame fields myself, leading me to think it wasn't.
Well...erhm...then I vote to keep it as is, by default! :wsl:

User avatar
gez
Fusioneer
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:21 pm
Answers: 1
Location: Argentina
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#47

Post by gez » Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:37 am

Back to topic after derailing it:

What about thumbnails for inputs and masks as default?
(ony those, I don't think it's that useful to have thumbnails for operations and it contributes to clutter).

I got used to the minimal look of not using thumbnails at all, but in the last project I realized that I was spending some time finding stuff although I had a pretty organized tree, with easily identifiable zones. However finding particular assets required some browsing that probably wouldn't have been necessary if I had the thumbnails for inputs on.
Since then I turned them on and it seems quite helpful.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 106 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#48

Post by Midgardsormr » Sun Mar 03, 2019 5:10 pm

Spotlight shadow Density value should be 1.0 instead of the current default of 0.5. At 0.5, the light sort of "leaks" through objects that should be casting solid shadows.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#49

Post by Kristof » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:39 am

"gamma aware color controls" checkbox checked.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2313
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 45 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#50

Post by SirEdric » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:51 am

And of course a complete redo of the current Fu16 workspace...:-)

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#51

Post by Kristof » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:00 am

That goes without saying :)

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 106 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#52

Post by Midgardsormr » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:09 am

Once the GUI sets, we should certainly look into some reskinning efforts. Maybe build a skin editor? I never did buckle down and solve that problem of extracting an asset from the .fuskin file without renaming it. Andrew (I think?) gave me some pointers, but I was too lazy to grok it at the time.

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1481
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#53

Post by Chad » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:17 am

You mean like REGS_IconID = "Icons.Tools.Icons.LUTApply"?

I did some minor tweaks to the skin to get rid of the red and replace it with yellow and increase contrast, but I didn't do extensive testing. Does anyone know if there's a method to reload the skin? The restarting is the biggest pain.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 602
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 6
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Real name: Sam Treadway
Been thanked: 36 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#54

Post by intelligent machine » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:17 pm

Kristof wrote:
Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:00 am
That goes without saying :)
Does it?
It made it this far without saying....just saying!

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#55

Post by Kristof » Tue Apr 09, 2019 1:26 pm

@intelligent machine, is that a steak under water?

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 515
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#56

Post by Shem Namo » Sun Dec 22, 2019 8:55 pm

I have the nodes arranged to the grid and orthogonal pipes by default (I know that orthogonal pipes are controversial but I think they keep the flow organized). 16 float by default is the best way to go, and besides one of the many things that Fusion can do that AE can’t is to have different parts of the flow to be different depths all with just a “Change Depth” node, so the default depth isn’t that important anyway. I know that for people transitioning from AE or nuke it’s hard to get used to the keyboard shortcuts, but you have to take into consideration that people who started compositing with Fusion from the beginning have a much easier time getting the hang of it than people who are pros in Nuke or anywhere else, for Nuke users isn’t there a thing called Nuke2Fusion in Reactor? I never tried it because I am not a Nuke user. Once I tried downloading the NC version of Nuke just to see what all of the noise is about, and honestly I think Fusion has a much better UI ( Especially Fusion 16) Nuke’s UI looks very old like something from 2001(just my opinion) no offense. Where was I getting with this? Oh yeah Fusion rocks, but the whole Ultimate UI thing is a great idea! Thank you Shem Namo

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 892
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 8
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#57

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Mon Dec 23, 2019 12:20 am

The fact that a UI *looks* very old isn't too relevant for me personally. Books have had the same UI for quite some time now and I don't think there's much room for improvement. If it works it works.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4487
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 115 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#58

Post by SecondMan » Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:16 am

Don't diss Nuke's UI based on its looks. Fusion, especially version 16, doesn't hold even a tiny candle to Nuke's ability to shape its UI to your workflow. And the Foundry has been very busy taking that a lot further still in the recent versions of Nuke. Look at the following video (starting at 2 minutes in) to see what I mean:



In terms of reducing clicks, now that's impressive. It actually does reduce clicks :P

Not to mention the improvements in responsiveness in version 12...

Fusion 16 is the first version of Fusion that - in terms of UI - I cannot work faster with than Nuke. Is it pretty though? That's subjective, and in my case relative to workflow principles. There's beauty in mechanics. Needless to say I'm not a particularly huge fan myself at the moment, but I remain hopeful for the future.

Let's just say that it's good that Fusion's core is as excellent as it ever was - seeing some great progress in that same version 16 - with a community to match.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 515
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#59

Post by Shem Namo » Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:00 am

That’s actually quite impressive(speaking with a British accent). I see how it can easily improve productivity. Did anyone try sending this video to the BMD developers and ask them if they can implement a similar customizable UI into Fusion? Thank you, Shem Namo.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 106 times
Contact:

Re: [Community Project] - Creating the ultimate Fusion default setup

#60

Post by Midgardsormr » Thu Jan 02, 2020 5:26 pm

Any Tool that has the Fast Gaussian filter in Fusion 16 should be set to use Gaussian instead to preserve backward compatibility of comps.