How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

Moderator: SecondMan

bowserlm
Fusionista
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:44 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

#1

Post by bowserlm » Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:03 pm

I've been tasked with trying to figure out how to get the result of 'Dancing Dissolve' in After Effects within Fusion.

For anyone not familiar, it's a Blending Mode that is often used is certain kinds of hand-drawn styles of motion graphics. The studio Buck uses the look quite often.

Here is an example -- http://buck.tv/#/work/project/16336/david-blaine

Here is a demo of it in After Effects



In Fusion, we have a blending mode called 'Dissolve' but it doesn't seem to behave in quite the same way. Instead of introducing a noise style dissolve across the areas that are semi-transparent like in the AE example, it does it uniformly across the whole color.



Any ideas?

Fefson
Fusioneer
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2016 3:58 am

Re: How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

#2

Post by Fefson » Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:58 am

I'm not sure it's the best approach - but it may be a starting point?

Code: Select all

{
	Tools = ordered() {
		FastNoise1 = FastNoise {
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				Inverted = Input { Value = 1, },
				Detail = Input { Value = 50, },
				Contrast = Input { Value = 2.231, },
				XScale = Input { Value = 500, },
				Color1Alpha = Input { Value = 1, },
				EffectMask = Input {
					SourceOp = "Ellipse1",
					Source = "Mask",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 214.5 } },
		},
		Ellipse1 = EllipseMask {
			Inputs = {
				SoftEdge = Input { Value = 0.2, },
				BorderWidth = Input { Value = -0.0085, },
				MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
				MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
				PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
				ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 148.5 } },
		},
		MatteControl2 = MatteControl {
			Inputs = {
				["Solid.MaskNest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Garbage.Matte"] = Input {
					SourceOp = "FastNoise1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				["Garbage.MaskNest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Garbage.MaskInverted"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Garbage.MaskChannel"] = Input { Value = 5, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "Background1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 280.5 } },
		},
		MatteControl3 = MatteControl {
			Inputs = {
				MatteCombine = Input { Value = 4, },
				CombineOp = Input { Value = 1, },
				MatteGamma = Input { Value = 0.085, },
				High = Input { Value = 0.119, },
				["Garbage.MaskNest"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Garbage.MaskInverted"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "MatteControl2",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				Foreground = Input {
					SourceOp = "Ellipse1",
					Source = "Mask",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 605, 280.5 } },
		},
		Background1 = Background {
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 385, 280.5 } },
		}
	}
}

User avatar
thibaud
Fusioneer
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:23 am
Contact:

Re: How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

#3

Post by thibaud » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:43 am

related:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1586&p=11661&hilit ... dge#p11680

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionista
Posts: 867
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

#4

Post by Midgardsormr » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:08 am

Try this:

Code: Select all

{
	Tools = ordered() {
		Background2 = Background {
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.688, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 880, 115.5 } },
		},
		Filter1 = Filter {
			Inputs = {
				FilterType = Input { Value = 5, },
				Power = Input { Value = 6, },
				Input = Input {
					SourceOp = "Ellipse2",
					Source = "Mask",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 990, 82.5 } },
		},
		Dissolve1 = Dissolve {
			Transitions = {
				[0] = "DFTDissolve",
				"DFTRandomNoise",
				"DFTLumaRamp"
			},
			Inputs = {
				Operation = Input { Value = FuID { "DFTLumaRamp" }, },
				Mix = Input { Value = 0.5, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "Background2",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				Foreground = Input {
					SourceOp = "Background3",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				Map = Input {
					SourceOp = "Filter1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				["DFTLumaRamp.Softness"] = Input { Value = 0.658, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 990, 115.5 } },
		},
		Ellipse2 = EllipseMask {
			Inputs = {
				SoftEdge = Input { Value = 0.0812, },
				MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
				MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
				PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
				ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
				Width = Input { Value = 0.494808113761733, },
				Height = Input { Value = 0.494808113761733, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 990, 49.5 } },
		},
		Background3 = Background {
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 0.037, },
				TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 0.469, },
				TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 0.719, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 880, 181.5 } },
		}
	}
}

bowserlm
Fusionista
Posts: 264
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:44 pm
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to create 'Dancing Dissolve' blend mode like in After Effects?

#5

Post by bowserlm » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:40 pm

@Midgardsormr with the home run again. And the crowd goes wild.

I've never really explored the Dissolve node, some powerful options in there.

This is actually way more flexible than the AE Dancing Dissolve, because the coverage, the falloff, and the size and kind of noise are all controllable.

Very nice!