Affect point position with a displace3D

Moderator: SecondMan

sepu66
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Affect point position with a displace3D

#1

Post by sepu66 » Fri May 24, 2019 7:50 pm

There is anyway to perturb or displace points coming from an alembic? Affect their position add some noise to it?
ImageImage


User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 104 times
Contact:

Re: Affect point position with a displace3D

#2

Post by SecondMan » Fri May 24, 2019 10:40 pm

Displace3D should work I would think...

If you don't see any effect - what's the scale of your Alembic file? Could be pretty huge compared to Fusion's default unit size...


User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1216
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 3
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 96 times
Contact:

Re: Affect point position with a displace3D

#3

Post by Midgardsormr » Fri May 24, 2019 11:02 pm

Another possibility is that you need to assign UV coordinates across the point cloud.


sepu66
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Affect point position with a displace3D

#4

Post by sepu66 » Fri May 24, 2019 11:14 pm

Mmm not really doing anything much here is the .abc
If I add a replace3D it affects the mesh distortion. I want to add some subtle motion to the pts themselves.

Pts_v01.abc

Code: Select all

{
	Tools = ordered() {
		attribvop31 = SurfaceAlembicMesh {
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Filename = Input { Value = "c:Test\Pts_v01\\Pts_v01.abc", },
				ObjName = Input { Value = "/rdr_EnvFG/attribvop3", },
				TransformToWorld = Input { Value = 1, },
				["ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
				["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 978, 214.5 } },
		},
		Transform3D1 = Transform3D {
			Inputs = {
				SceneInput = Input {
					SourceOp = "attribvop31",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				["Transform3DOp.Scale.X"] = Input { Value = 0.1, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 978, 333.5 } },
		},
		FastNoise1 = FastNoise {
			Inputs = {
				GlobalIn = Input { Value = 1, },
				GlobalOut = Input { Value = 240, },
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				XScale = Input { Value = 14.7, },
				Seethe = Input { Value = 0.281, },
				SeetheRate = Input { Value = 0.043, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 790, 438 } },
		},
		Displace3D1 = Displace3D {
			Inputs = {
				SceneInput = Input {
					SourceOp = "Transform3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				Scale = Input { Value = 1, },
				Input = Input {
					SourceOp = "FastNoise1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 996, 459 } },
		}
	},
	ActiveTool = "attribvop31"
}
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3586
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 104 times
Contact:

Re: Affect point position with a displace3D

#5

Post by SecondMan » Sat May 25, 2019 12:27 am

What Bryan said :)

Add a UVMap3D after your point cloud, and before displacing?


sepu66
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Affect point position with a displace3D

#6

Post by sepu66 » Sat May 25, 2019 9:11 am

awesome thanks, guys!