Bins icons?

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Bins icons?

#1

Post by andromeda_girl » Mon Sep 16, 2019 8:26 am

anybody else finding that their bins don't show any icons?
terribly unhelpful when trying to find a preset.
some things show icons, other things don't.

[i used to hate the candy-like icons in fusion but now omfg i miss them now that fu16 has decided to go with ugly lame uninspiring and confusing grey-on grey icons.

Image

Image


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 162 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#2

Post by SirEdric » Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:37 am

Only hard-coded tools show Icons by default.
The ones without icons in your screenshot are .setting files.
If you put a 160x120 .bmp file with the same name as the .setting file in the same folder as the .setting, it will show up as icon in the bins...:-)


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#3

Post by andromeda_girl » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:17 am

the tools in my bins for fusion 9 used to show the icons for things like lens flares and so on but now nothing does. not for 9 or 16
this is something that has changed recently


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 162 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#4

Post by SirEdric » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:19 am

Have you checked the folders where the .settings live? Are there any .bmp in there?
Icons work for me quite fine in Fu9....


User avatar
JUNE
Fusionista
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 16 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#5

Post by JUNE » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:52 pm

Maximum resolution support.
Width = 322
Height = 242


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#6

Post by andromeda_girl » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:14 am

JUNE wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:52 pm

Maximum resolution support.
Width = 322
Height = 242

what do you mean, June?
i think my graphics card can handle something that small but i suspect you refer to something else ;)


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 162 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#7

Post by SirEdric » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:15 am

Indeed he does. He refers to the best resolution for the BinIcons.
(Which, coincidentally, seems to be what this entire topic is about...:-))

Last edited by SirEdric on Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
thibaud
Fusioneer
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:23 am
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#8

Post by thibaud » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:02 am

SirEdric wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:15 am

Indeed she does. She refers to the best resolution for the BinIcons.
(Which, coincidentally, seems to be what this entire topic is about...:-))

Is June a she now ?
or was he she all the time and me being bamboozled ?

Also "best" resolution sounds quite different from "Maximum" resolution. so which is it ?


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 162 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#9

Post by SirEdric » Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:56 am

thibaud wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:02 am

Also "best" resolution sounds quite different from "Maximum" resolution. so which is it ?

You could also put 4k bmps as icons in the same folder as the .settings.
But that would be a waste of space and computational power since those 4k would be internally downscaled for display.
Hence 'best' resolution...:-)


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#10

Post by andromeda_girl » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:55 am

i withdraw the question.


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#11

Post by andromeda_girl » Wed Sep 18, 2019 6:36 am

SirEdric wrote:
Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:19 am

Have you checked the folders where the .settings live? Are there any .bmp in there?
Icons work for me quite fine in Fu9....

if you mean the 'settings' folder then no, there are no .bmp files in there, in fu9 or fu16

there is no bins folder either, which is weird because i seem to remember an install having that before.


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#12

Post by andromeda_girl » Sun Sep 22, 2019 8:05 am

this is terribly frustrating.
i KNOW i always had icons for:
backgrounds,
generators,
how to,
lens flares,
look,
motion graphics,
i think particles did as well,
shaders i know did,
styled text and tools i think did as well.

User avatar
ELinder
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:54 am
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#13

Post by ELinder » Sun Sep 22, 2019 9:06 am

When this happened to me (and I have no idea why it did) I had to uninstall, manually delete anything left over, and do a fresh Fusion 9 install.

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Bins icons?

#14

Post by andromeda_girl » Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:04 pm

perhaps the fu16 install killed it.
when i installed fu10 [prior to it being called fu16] it destroyed my fu9 installation [thanks, BMD, for the warning on that BTW]
which meant ALL my presents and fuses, macros and every setting and plugin went away - including my impossible to retrieve keylight for fusion plugin :banghead:

when it came time to put it onto my laptop [due to my fusion dongle suddenly not functioning on my desktop] i had learned by then [a little late but at least i learned it] that i needed to rename my fgu9 install folder to something different so the fu16 install would not kill it.

so perhaps it has something to do with that.

i don't know if there is a trick to re-install fu 9 on a machine that already has fu16 on it, if there is i might be willing to try but only if the instructions are downright idiot-proof

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 4
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 162 times
Contact:

Re: Bins icons?

#15

Post by SirEdric » Mon Sep 23, 2019 9:37 pm

andromeda_girl wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:04 pm
i don't know if there is a trick to re-install fu 9 on a machine that already has fu16 on it
Just installing it should work just fine.
If you want to be 150% safe, make a copy of the Fu16 install folder first.