Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 7 times

arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#1

Post by andromeda_girl » Sun Aug 16, 2020 11:44 am

Fusion version:
165.2.3


OS and version:
windows 10 x64


Additional relevant system info:
utterly irrelevant in this case.


Description of the bug:
the [ and ] keys have always -legacy function here- always been the keys that advance the frame one way or the other, and never the arrow keys. the arrow keys have -always and again, legacy here- always been for moving onscreen controls and spline points, etc. but in 16.2.3 the arrow keys also move the frame. this would explain why the frame i am looking at keeps changing when i have say a transform tool in the view and selected and the control selected and am moving the arrows left or right. what5 should be happening here is the control moves, not the frame. arrow up and down still moves the control but left and right moves the frame. and the [ and ] keys still do this as well so when in heck did this change and who brilliantly thought we'd never need the L and R arrow keys to move a control point any longer?


Severity (Trivial, Minor, Major, Critical)
beyond incomprehensibly maddening and frustrating.


Steps to reproduce:
this should be simple enough to reproduce, just read the description.


Please, if possible, provide a Fusion setup to help demonstrate the behaviour, either as an attachment or between [code] tags:

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 970
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 8
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#2

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Mon Aug 17, 2020 12:17 am

I don't disagree with what you say, but until it either gets fixed or accessible for customization:
Nudge now works by Ctrl+Shft arrow keys or Cmd+Shft

User avatar
Tory
Fusioneer
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:29 am
Real name: Tory Hooton
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#3

Post by Tory » Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:15 am

Yes this is frustrating... I reported this to BMD a while back and I got the response that more work is needed to integrate the short cut system. I get having it be default in Resolve (maybe) But I wanted to be able to have an option to change the key-map. It is currently hard wired :P

It is the first thing I check with each new release :ugeek:

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1540
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#4

Post by Chad » Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:35 am

If they change the shortcuts, they can sell a new version of the Resolve keyboard. More revenue for them!

User avatar
Tory
Fusioneer
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:29 am
Real name: Tory Hooton
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#5

Post by Tory » Wed Nov 11, 2020 1:35 pm

This has a new behavior in 17! It appears to now be context sensitive. In the flow the left and right advance the frame. If the viewer is active it nudges. That seems like a great implementation to me :)

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 970
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 8
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#6

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Wed Nov 11, 2020 11:38 pm

Tory wrote:
Wed Nov 11, 2020 1:35 pm
This has a new behavior in 17! It appears to now be context sensitive. In the flow the left and right advance the frame. If the viewer is active it nudges. That seems like a great implementation to me :)
You're right! I hadn't even noticed this. Wonderful!

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#7

Post by SecondMan » Thu Nov 26, 2020 5:50 pm

@andromeda_girl - does this sound good to you? Mark this fixed?

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#8

Post by andromeda_girl » Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:27 pm

well it's clearly not up to me saying it is fixed or not :P
personally i am not a fan of the way keyboard mapping has changed so much. control+P doesn't even pass through a node anymore!

i much preferred the arrow keys nudging things, and was used to the [ and ] keys advancing the frame.
it is ages-old fusion legacy doing it that way so the change is not terribly welcome for me.
i don't even know how to nudge an onscreen control a pixel at a time anymore.
:bmd:

as far as i am concerned it is broken and will remain that way based on how BMD has been buggering up fusion endlessly.
they have demonstrated repeatedly they don't care one bit for the long-term fusion users, don't care for it being a vfx tool at all and just want it to be a toy for editors to add graphic design elements. it's why we won't be getting hard-core vfx tool functions now. fusion was way ahead long ago and then it all petered out and then just came to an abrupt stop. as a 20+ year fusion fan it is just heartbreaking.
i do hope they prove me very wrong but i am not holding my breath :(

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#9

Post by SecondMan » Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:45 pm

andromeda_girl wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:27 pm
i am not a fan of the way keyboard mapping has changed so much. control+P doesn't even pass through a node anymore!
Maybe check some of your preferences and/or customisations?

In Fu17 vanilla install - [ and ] are frame backwards and forwards one at a time, no matter the View, arrows nudge the onscreen Control widgets in the Viewer, and CTRL+P toggles pass-through on nodes in the Flow...

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#10

Post by andromeda_girl » Sat Nov 28, 2020 7:18 am

that's not how my vanilla fu17 install operates.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#11

Post by SecondMan » Sat Nov 28, 2020 12:18 pm

But you have 17 installed alongside 16 and 9, right? So there are likely to be shared settings between them.

Mine is literally a fresh reinstall, Windows included, on a new boot drive. Hence also viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4504

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#12

Post by andromeda_girl » Sun Nov 29, 2020 6:01 am

so if they have shared settings and i never ever once in over 20 years customized my keyboard shortcuts then why is it different?

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1540
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#13

Post by Chad » Sun Nov 29, 2020 10:59 am

It might be using the old defaults. Ideally, new versions of the software shouldn't change shortcuts; no one wants to find the cheese again. But new users are fine with new defaults. I don't know if that's what the installer is doing, but it would be a sensible compromise to implement.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4662
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: arrow keys now do two things in v16.2.3

#14

Post by SecondMan » Sun Nov 29, 2020 11:30 pm

20 years is also a long time. Dust may collect here and there :)

Do you have Reactor? Anything installed that adds/changes shortcuts? Nuke2Fusion is one that comes to mind. You could also check the Hotkey Manager. Go to Target -> Views -> Flow and see if CTRL+P is assigned to something custom, for example.

Would be nice if in Hotkey Manager you could enter a key combination to see if something is assigned to it already...