[f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor  [FIXED]

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
bryanfordney
Fusioneer
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:10 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Been thanked: 5 times

[f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor

#1

Post by bryanfordney » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:29 am

Fusion version:

16.0 beta 28 build 28

OS and version:

macOS 10.14.5

Additional relevant system info:

iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2015)
Secondary monitor is an HP zDisplay running at 1920x1080

Description of the bug:

Fusion crashes when I create a floating frame, put it on a secondary monitor, and adda view to it. Sometimes instantaeously, sometimes after a short delay (1-5 seconds)

Severity (Trivial, Minor, Major, Critical)

Critical

Steps to reproduce:

Create a new comp.
Create a floating frame.
Drag it to your secondary monitor.
Add a view (Flow, Spline at the ones I tested).

Please, if possible, provide a Fusion setup to help demonstrate the behaviour, either as an attachment or between [code] tags:

User avatar
bryanfordney
Fusioneer
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:10 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: [f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor

#2

Post by bryanfordney » Mon Jul 22, 2019 12:30 pm

Problem still occurs on latest beta (f16b6)

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1408
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: [f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor

#3

Post by Chad » Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:56 pm

Works for me under Windows.

User avatar
Movalex
Fusioneer
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:36 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: [f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor

#4

Post by Movalex » Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:29 pm

With new Beta6 you can add a single Floating window, but you cannot add another layout to it (say Timeline AND the Spline) - instant crash.

Moreover, if you wait a bit with a single Floating frame added until autosave will work, Fusion 16 will also crash. Same result with manual save.

I just can't get it, why do they trying to kill this feature. I recall floating windows and views were working fine in an early betas. And if you are working with splines often, this tiny "Keyframes" thing is completely useless.

User avatar
Movalex
Fusioneer
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:36 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: [f16b4] Crash when using floating frame on second monitor  [FIXED]

#5

Post by Movalex » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:57 am

Ok, this is fixed in beta7! (tested on macos)

Image