Welcome to WSL!

New to the forum? Please read this and this.

Stretch tool which stretches a specific area? ( Normal transform width does not work like in the video)

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
Davinci3456
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 09, 2021 4:25 pm

Stretch tool which stretches a specific area? ( Normal transform width does not work like in the video)

#1

Post by Davinci3456 »

Take a look at this. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NN8iJgsyruc I want to do text animation exactly like this, but the transform zoom does not work the way it works in alight. While i was able to do it by masking 2 transform effects but it looked weird as Davinci zoom does not have softness built into it (Zoom smoothing/softness reduces the effect of zoom on the edges, so the mask wont work like that as it just reduces layer opacity not the zoom effect itself). It would be nice if there was a tool/plugin which would give the same options as alight zoom effect with zoom softness. Is there something similar to that? or can someone build it?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 40 times
Contact:

Re: Stretch tool which stretches a specific area? ( Normal transform width does not work like in the video)

#2

Post by Midgardsormr »

That is an incredibly tedious "tutorial." But, the good news is that the free plug-in suite Krokodove has a Transform node that does what I think you're after. I'm not sure if KKD has been recompiled against the v17 SDK or not, but it's definitely available in Fusion 16.

Failing that, you can do a lot with the Grid Warp, although it's not exactly a fun and intuitive way to go about it.

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 824
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 6
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: Stretch tool which stretches a specific area? ( Normal transform width does not work like in the video)

#3

Post by Millolab »

Or you can get creative with the displace tool.
It will need you to be crafty though.

User avatar
danell
Fusionista
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:32 am
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Stretch tool which stretches a specific area? ( Normal transform width does not work like in the video)

#4

Post by danell »

Quick and dirty way to do it:
  1. {
  2.     Tools = ordered() {
  3.         Crop1_1 = Crop {
  4.             CtrlWZoom = false,
  5.             Inputs = {
  6.                 XOffset = Input { Value = 346, },
  7.                 XSize = Input {
  8.                     SourceOp = "Crop1_1XSize",
  9.                     Source = "Value",
  10.                 },
  11.                 YSize = Input { Value = 1080, },
  12.                 KeepCentered = Input { Value = 1, },
  13.                 Input = Input {
  14.                     SourceOp = "Text1",
  15.                     Source = "Output",
  16.                 },
  17.             },
  18.             ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 935, 148.5 } },
  19.         },
  20.         Crop1_1XSize = BezierSpline {
  21.             SplineColor = { Red = 251, Green = 94, Blue = 44 },
  22.             NameSet = true,
  23.             KeyFrames = {
  24.                 [0] = { 1, RH = { 16.6666666666667, 640.666666666667 }, Flags = { Linear = true } },
  25.                 [50] = { 1920, LH = { 33.3333333333333, 1280.33333333333 }, Flags = { Linear = true } }
  26.             }
  27.         },
  28.         Text1 = TextPlus {
  29.             Inputs = {
  30.                 GlobalOut = Input { Value = 50, },
  31.                 Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
  32.                 Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
  33.                 ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
  34.                 StyledText = Input { Value = "Super cool text, oh yeah!", },
  35.                 Font = Input { Value = "Open Sans", },
  36.                 Style = Input { Value = "Extrabold Italic", },
  37.                 VerticalJustificationNew = Input { Value = 3, },
  38.                 HorizontalJustificationNew = Input { Value = 3, },
  39.                 ManualFontKerningPlacement = Input {
  40.                     Value = StyledText {
  41.                         Array = {
  42.                         },
  43.                         Value = ""
  44.                     },
  45.                 },
  46.             },
  47.             ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 935, 115.5 } },
  48.         },
  49.         Transform1 = Transform {
  50.             Inputs = {
  51.                 Edges = Input { Value = 2, },
  52.                 Input = Input {
  53.                     SourceOp = "Crop1_1",
  54.                     Source = "Output",
  55.                 },
  56.             },
  57.             ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 935, 181.5 } },
  58.         },
  59.         Crop1 = Crop {
  60.             Inputs = {
  61.                 XOffset = Input { Value = -345, },
  62.                 XSize = Input { Value = 1920, },
  63.                 YSize = Input { Value = 1080, },
  64.                 KeepCentered = Input { Value = 1, },
  65.                 Input = Input {
  66.                     SourceOp = "Transform1",
  67.                     Source = "Output",
  68.                 },
  69.             },
  70.             ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 935, 214.5 } },
  71.         }
  72.     }
  73. }
Text shakes a bit but I'm sure that can be ironed out. Another way would be to use the displace tool with a gradient as Emilio said above.