[DX] Respect DoD Throughout (Was "Dissolve Thrashes DoD")

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 18 times

[DX] Respect DoD Throughout (Was "Dissolve Thrashes DoD")

#1

Post by Kristof » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:24 am

Fusion version: Fusion Studio 8.2 build 2

OS and version: Windows 7 Professional

Additional relevant system info:

Description of the bug: A dissolve node kills DoD. I would expect it to keep it when set to Background or Foreground, and recalculate it when set to something in between.

Severity (Trivial, Minor, Major, Critical) Major.

Steps to reproduce: Paste the code in your comp.

Please, if possible, provide a Fusion setup to help demonstrate the behaviour, either as an attachment or between

Code: Select all

 tags:[/b][/color]

[codebox=lua file=Untitled.lua]{
	Tools = ordered() {
		Ellipse1_1 = EllipseMask {
			Inputs = {
				Invert = Input { Value = 1, },
				MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
				MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
				PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
				ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
				Width = Input { Value = 0.624853498454838, },
				Height = Input { Value = 0.624853498454838, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, -49.5 } },
		},
		AutoDomain1_1 = AutoDomain {
			Inputs = {
				Input = Input {
					SourceOp = "ChannelBooleans1_1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 605, -16.5 } },
		},
		Background1_1 = Background {
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1024, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1024, },
				Depth = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 1, },
				TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 1, },
				TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 1, },
				Gradient = Input {
					Value = Gradient {
						Colors = {
							[0] = { 0, 0, 0, 1 },
							[1] = { 1, 1, 1, 1 }
						}
					},
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 330, -16.5 } },
		},
		ChannelBooleans1_1 = ChannelBoolean {
			Inputs = {
				Operation = Input { Value = 12, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "Background1_1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				EffectMask = Input {
					SourceOp = "Ellipse1_1",
					Source = "Mask",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, -16.5 } },
		},
		Note1 = Note {
			Inputs = {
				Comments = Input { Value = "Enable DoD in the preview window and go through the different steps in the comp. The dissolve node thrashes the DoD, something I'm not expecting to happen.", }
			},
			ViewInfo = StickyNoteInfo {
				Pos = { 715, 16.5 },
				Flags = {
					Expanded = true
				},
				Size = { 196, 179.3 }
			},
		},
		Note2 = Note {
			Inputs = {
				Comments = Input { Value = "Expected behaviour:", }
			},
			ViewInfo = StickyNoteInfo {
				Pos = { 935, 16.5 },
				Flags = {
					Expanded = true
				},
				Size = { 196, 179.3 }
			},
		},
		Ellipse1 = EllipseMask {
			Inputs = {
				Invert = Input { Value = 1, },
				MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
				MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
				PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
				ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 82.5 } },
		},
		AutoDomain1_1_1 = AutoDomain {
			Inputs = {
				Input = Input {
					SourceOp = "Dissolve1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 990, 115.5 } },
		},
		Dissolve1 = Dissolve {
			Transitions = {
				[0] = "DFTDissolve"
			},
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Mix = Input { Value = 0, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "AutoDomain1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				Foreground = Input {
					SourceOp = "AutoDomain1_1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 770, 115.5 } },
		},
		AutoDomain1 = AutoDomain {
			Inputs = {
				Input = Input {
					SourceOp = "ChannelBooleans1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 605, 115.5 } },
		},
		Background1 = Background {
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1024, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1024, },
				Depth = Input { Value = 1, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				TopLeftRed = Input { Value = 1, },
				TopLeftGreen = Input { Value = 1, },
				TopLeftBlue = Input { Value = 1, },
				Gradient = Input {
					Value = Gradient {
						Colors = {
							[0] = { 0, 0, 0, 1 },
							[1] = { 1, 1, 1, 1 }
						}
					},
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 330, 115.5 } },
		},
		ChannelBooleans1 = ChannelBoolean {
			Inputs = {
				Operation = Input { Value = 12, },
				Background = Input {
					SourceOp = "Background1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				EffectMask = Input {
					SourceOp = "Ellipse1",
					Source = "Mask",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 495, 115.5 } },
		}
	}
}[/codebox]
Last edited by Kristof on Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:55 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1410
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#2

Post by Chad » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:30 am

That's consistent with the documentation since like 5.x. For whatever reason, ROIDS was never implemented for Dissolve.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 95 times
Contact:

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#3

Post by SecondMan » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:37 am

Dissolve is not a DoD capable tool and therefore its DoD output is the full frame. There also used to be a list on VFXPedia with those tools but that one didn't survive the BMD switch. It's not a bug.

For switching you can use the switch Fuse instead, which is DoD capable (and maybe use that as a basis for a custom DoD aware DX Fuse).

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#4

Post by Kristof » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:39 am

Chad wrote:That's consistent with the documentation since like 5.x. For whatever reason, ROIDS was never implemented for Dissolve.
So this is not a bug? Adding an AutoDomain node after the dissolve looks like an unnecessary step to me, but maybe my expectation is out of whack (genuine question)?

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#5

Post by Kristof » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:40 am

SecondMan wrote:Dissolve is not a DoD capable tool and therefore its DoD output is the full frame. There also used to be a list on VFXPedia with those tools but that one didn't survive the BMD switch. It's not a bug.

For switching you can use the switch Fuse instead, which is DoD capable (and maybe use that as a basis for a custom DoD aware DX Fuse).
Using switches in 8.2 is a recipe for disaster though, so that is not an option. :)

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3490
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 95 times
Contact:

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#6

Post by SecondMan » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:42 am

I'm putting this in the Wish List instead.

I've had very little time to spend in 8.2 thus far. What recipe?

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#7

Post by Kristof » Tue Oct 04, 2016 7:57 am

SecondMan wrote:I've had very little time to spend in 8.2 thus far. What recipe?
The idea is to use 8.2 (or newer) in a production pretty soon and I'm trying to submit as much bug reports as I can, time permitting. I use switches a lot in comp, mainly to switch between pre-renders or live chunks of a comp. Because of that (not only though, see related *beep* message), my base comp became unstable and eventually unusable in 7 and 8. Took me while to figure that one out.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Dissolve Thrashes DoD

#8

Post by Kristof » Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:54 am

Still not convinced this is not a bug, but hey... Changed the title from "Dissolve Thrashes DoD" to "Respect DoD throughout". :)