Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

Scalable UI:

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
avclubvids
Fusioneer
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:51 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Scalable UI:

#1

Post by avclubvids » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:22 am

On a 4k monitor, Fusion is almost unusable. The UI ends up absolutely microscopic, and even after increasing to the max, pick distances on tools and UI controls are way too small. Resizing an underlay takes forever because the edges are a single pixel to grab, and connecting nodes is slow and error-prone due to incredibly micro distances to pick and drag. It would be fantastic if the UI could be scaled, even just increasing font size would help a ton.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 155 times
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#2

Post by Midgardsormr » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:41 am

Preferences > User Interface > UI Scale.

It would be nice if it had more than just the two sizes, though. A slider would be ideal, but adding 150% and 250% to the existing would suffice for most users.

User avatar
avclubvids
Fusioneer
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 7:51 am
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#3

Post by avclubvids » Fri Sep 22, 2017 11:01 am

I swear I searched the prefs forever and never saw this one. Just tried it and I'm changing my suggestion:

Definitely make it a Slider. 1x is too small, 2x is too big. 1.25x or 1.5x might be perfect.

+1 beer to Bryan, -1 beer to Fusion ;)

User avatar
joshuaz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:34 pm

Re: Scalable UI:

#4

Post by joshuaz » Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:49 pm

Is the UI scale using a multiplier? Can we run a script or edit a settings file to change the multiplier to say 1.5 or 150?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 155 times
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#5

Post by Midgardsormr » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:05 pm

It's apparently a limitation of Qt, on which the UI is built. The devs are in the midst of rewriting the libraries to permit fractional scaling of the interface, according to what I was told at SIGGRAPH earlier this month.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2347
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#6

Post by SirEdric » Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:08 am

Not that there would be much more important tasks like
- glTF im/export
- USD im/export
- PBR / BSDF Shader
- Scriptable mesh import
- useable GUI
... ah well ... :--/

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 155 times
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#7

Post by Midgardsormr » Tue Aug 27, 2019 6:39 pm

How do you envision glTF fitting in a pipeline? I haven't yet encountered it in the wild and don't actually really know what it's for.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2347
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Scalable UI:

#8

Post by SirEdric » Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:05 am

We use glTF on a daily basis for delivering AR and VR content. All things Android get .glb files, all things iOS get usdz.
It's a 3D format https://www.khronos.org/gltf/ and as with any format out there it has it's weaknesses and strengths.
One strength is that Blender supports direct glTF im/export and that the BSDF shaders from Blender look pretty much identical to the glTF displayed in webpages.

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Scalable UI:

#9

Post by andromeda_girl » Sat Aug 31, 2019 6:53 am

anything that makes the GUI usable has my vote at this point.
especially if it involves trashing the current one and restoring a 'classic' option.

off topic here; but yeah- PBR shaders- OMG...
I get wet thinking about having that in Fusion.
When I pressed Steve about it, he said the format is too new and not widely used, or something to that effect.
I disagree. It's proving to be widely used and standard.
[sigh]
Fusion already has shaders, which Nuke lacks big-time [oh boy, does it ever]

Let's press BMD to make Fusion's already way-out-in-front 3D capabilities even more powerful.