Reactor Release Announcement

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionista
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 36 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#16

Post by SirEdric » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:19 pm

Looks as if you dragged the lua installer onto the Fusion Flow Area.
Should be dragged onto the console to be run as a script.

ringkun
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#17

Post by ringkun » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:42 pm

SirEdric wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:19 pm
Looks as if you dragged the lua installer onto the Fusion Flow Area.
Should be dragged onto the console to be run as a script.
I actually figured it out, I think that I simply can't download it because of my free copy of Fusion. I did the thing you suggested however, did not work.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionista
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 36 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#18

Post by SirEdric » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:54 pm

Hmmm...odd..Reactor should work just fine in Fusion Free.
*Some* of the actual tools or comps in Reactor won't work in Free, since they require additional plugins which are blocked in the free version.
The majority of the tools should work though.

Sorry to ask, but did you closely follow the steps in the setup instructions?

User avatar
Miltos
Fusionista
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 2:18 am
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#19

Post by Miltos » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:22 am

ringkun wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:17 pm
Image

I'm posting this here too. Can someone explain why I can't install this?

Make sure you drag and drop it into the console tab.
Console Tab.jpg
Console Tab.jpg (8.55 KiB) Viewed 828 times

ringkun
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#20

Post by ringkun » Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:25 am

Miltos wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:22 am
ringkun wrote:
Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:17 pm
Image

I'm posting this here too. Can someone explain why I can't install this?

Make sure you drag and drop it into the console tab.

Console Tab.jpg
I'm confused, that's what I did, is there another console tab?

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionista
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 36 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#21

Post by SirEdric » Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:25 am

Hmmmm.....Fusion tries to open the script as a composition.
(Which it isn't. Hence it fails...:-))

Did you drag the .lua file from explorer onto the *tab* (literally on the word "console") or in the big, blank area underneath?
It certainly should go into the big, blank area.
Switch to console *first*, then drag the .lua into the area.

User avatar
ChristopherNodal
Fusioneer
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:42 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#22

Post by ChristopherNodal » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:34 pm

Hello everyone. My professional requirements forced me to be away from Fusion in favor of "that other one", so I have not been keeping track of the goings-on here. I even missed the Fusion 9 release. You have all been very busy.

My sincerest thanks for creating the Reactor project! This is certain to raise eyebrows with people. I can tell you that mine are pretty high up. I thought I was aware of most of what the Fusion community was up to over the past several years. Having just installed and opened Reactor proved me wrong.

This is truly exciting, game-changing stuff. I cannot wait to see the support for it grow. Well done!

User avatar
theotheo
Fusioneer
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#23

Post by theotheo » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:54 pm

ChristopherNodal wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:34 pm
Hello everyone. My professional requirements forced me to be away from Fusion in favor of "that other one", so I have not been keeping track of the goings-on here. I even missed the Fusion 9 release. You have all been very busy.

My sincerest thanks for creating the Reactor project! This is certain to raise eyebrows with people. I can tell you that mine are pretty high up. I thought I was aware of most of what the Fusion community was up to over the past several years. Having just installed and opened Reactor proved me wrong.

This is truly exciting, game-changing stuff. I cannot wait to see the support for it grow. Well done!
Welcome back Christopher!

ringkun
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#24

Post by ringkun » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:15 pm

SirEdric wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:25 am
Hmmmm.....Fusion tries to open the script as a composition.
(Which it isn't. Hence it fails...:-))

Did you drag the .lua file from explorer onto the *tab* (literally on the word "console") or in the big, blank area underneath?
It certainly should go into the big, blank area.
Switch to console *first*, then drag the .lua into the area.
fusionreactorerror.PNG
fusionreactorerror.PNG (65.82 KiB) Viewed 790 times
Okay, I did it like this:

1. Lua File is on the Desk Top
2. I dragged it into the Console's actual tab. It Yielded the error above
3. I dragged it into the Console tab box output. It Yielded the same error
4. I dragged it in to the console input, or whatever the place you can type LUA code into is called, and it Yielded this output.

I feel like I am misunderstanding all of the suggestions here.

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#25

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:44 pm

@ringkun On the BMD forum you mention you're still running 9.0 right? Please update to the latest version of Fusion first and if *then* it doesn't work, get back to us :-)

ringkun
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:11 pm

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#26

Post by ringkun » Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:26 pm

ShadowMaker SdR wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 1:44 pm
@ringkun On the BMD forum you mention you're still running 9.0 right? Please update to the latest version of Fusion first and if *then* it doesn't work, get back to us :-)
I just redownload it on the website right?

Hell yea now its kicking

JoaoFonsecaAlmeida
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:16 am

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#27

Post by JoaoFonsecaAlmeida » Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:55 am

Hi,

Running Fusion 9.02 in Windows 10 and could not get the installer running by dragging the script file to the console. Then tried copying he script text and pasting it in the console and started the script by ENTER and got this install error in step 2. Could this related to my user name in Windows having a "~" character? I have tried saving the Reactor.fu to the config directory "C:\Users\João Fonseca Almeida\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Config" but no menu is created when Fusion is restarted.

Please help - Thanks.
Reactor Installation Error 1.PNG
Reactor Installation Error 2.PNG

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 2257
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 44 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#28

Post by SecondMan » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:36 pm

Hi Joao,

Could it be that you have Windows 10 disk permissions issues and don't have full access to your C:\ProgramData\ folder?

Additionally, Could you post a screenshot of the Reactor.fu text file contents as it looks when viewed in a text editor like Wordpad, or Notepad++? This will indicate if the file was downloaded correctly and *is* actually a plain text .fu file.

JoaoFonsecaAlmeida
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:16 am

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#29

Post by JoaoFonsecaAlmeida » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:45 pm

Hi SecondMan,

Thanks for taking the time to answer and sorry for the late reply.

After adjusting permissions (my user belongs to Administrator group, but nevertheless I explicitly gave it full permissions to the folders) still got the same error. Run Fusion as Admin and repeated with the same result.

Revisited the alternative method and by looking at the Reactor.fu file in the Config folder I was able to see that you were right - I had download the HTML file and not the text file :oops: . After substituting it and restarting Fusion the Reactor menu was created and installation was able to successfully finish.

Just to let you know that some parts of Atomizer screens do not show the "~" char correctly, examples in attached files.

Thanks for your help :cheers: .

Atomizer-Garbled chars 01.PNG
Atomizer-Garbled chars 02.PNG

User avatar
ChristopherNodal
Fusioneer
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:42 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Reactor Release Announcement

#30

Post by ChristopherNodal » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:17 pm

JoaoFonsecaAlmeida wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:45 pm
Just to let you know that some parts of Atomizer screens do not show the "~" char correctly, examples in attached files.
I think that is not an Atomizer issue but a Fusion one...