Getting started with Reactor

Moderator: SecondMan

Goblynn93
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:27 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#91

Post by Goblynn93 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:19 am

Where is this folder?

%appdata%\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Config\Reactor.fu

I can't find it - it doesn't seem to exist on my WIndows system.

EDIT:
I would prefer to use the Visual Installer but despite working great on one computer its totally failiing on this one.

Now I am trying to follow the manual install directions and I can't find the Config folder anywhere on my computer.

Thanks for any help!!

EDIT:
I found it. I didn't realize the path listed above is broken because it includes a file name that doesn't exist.

The install path should be: %appdata%\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Config\

Tags:

mcchicken
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:52 pm

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#92

Post by mcchicken » Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:28 am

Just some Info if the installer fails writing files to "/var/BlackmagicDesign"
A normal user does not have write access there. So you need to create the folder and add your user with chmod

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#93

Post by SecondMan » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:02 am

mcchicken wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:28 am
Just some Info if the installer fails writing files to "/var/BlackmagicDesign"
A normal user does not have write access there. So you need to create the folder and add your user with chmod

If you find yourself in that situation, you don't have to use that install location.

The REACTOR_INSTALL_PATHMAP environment variable can be used to change the Reactor installation location to something other than the default PathMap value of "AllData:".

More info here: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=2440

PlusUltra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#94

Post by PlusUltra » Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:58 am

Davinci Resolve issue.

I have tried many times to install the Lua script in resolve, latest version,15.2.4, just by drag and drop method, to the node view in fusion tab.

It does open the reactor installer but after clicking in relaunch app, it never relaunches resolve, so I have to open it manually and the menu entry for reactor in the fusion tabe, under scripts is not there.

Can you please help me there?

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#95

Post by SecondMan » Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:22 am

PlusUltra wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:58 am
Can you please help me there?
What OS? What information from the installer can you find in the Console?

PlusUltra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#96

Post by PlusUltra » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:19 am

SecondMan wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:22 am
PlusUltra wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 5:58 am
Can you please help me there?
What OS? What information from the installer can you find in the Console?
Windows 10 x64. Latest version

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#97

Post by SecondMan » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:49 am

SecondMan wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:22 am
What information from the installer can you find in the Console?
:)

PlusUltra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#98

Post by PlusUltra » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:11 am

SecondMan wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:49 am
SecondMan wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 7:22 am
What information from the installer can you find in the Console?
:)
give me a moment I grab some screenshots

Added in 6 minutes 15 seconds:
So this is what i get when trying to install
Attachments
01.png
02.png
03.png

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#99

Post by SecondMan » Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:22 am

The Console is in the Workspace menu:

Image

PlusUltra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#100

Post by PlusUltra » Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:36 pm

Looks like i was using and old lua script, cause i just downloaded again the file, and comparing both, one is 43kb and the other is 45kb

anyway, it worked this time
Attachments
05.png
04.png

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#101

Post by SecondMan » Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:49 pm

PlusUltra wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:36 pm
anyway, it worked this time
Fantastic! And you know where the Console is now, too. Win win! ;)

Welcome to Reactor! You'll love it. :)

PlusUltra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#102

Post by PlusUltra » Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:03 pm

im a long time resolve user, i knew where the console was, heheh.

Already deleted the old lua script and ketp the latest one, that was the issue

thx again for your help

remoz
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#103

Post by remoz » Fri Mar 22, 2019 6:50 pm

would it be possible to create a Video, that shows step by step how to install reactor for windows and Fusion?
I appreciate all the tools - but I always had crazy problems installing those fantastic tools!

That would really be extremely helpful!!

Thank you so much and keep rocking!
cheers

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 1
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 80 times
Contact:

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#104

Post by SirEdric » Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:57 am

You mean a video on top of this already quite explanative topic?
viewtopic.php?t=2159
What were those crazy problems? Could you elaborate on those?

Sticknolt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:19 am

Re: Getting started with Reactor

#105

Post by Sticknolt » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:35 am

Hi, I'm new to the forum, so Hello everybody!

I'm also new to Fusion (Fusion in Davinci Resolve v16.0.0.044 to be exact) and I'm trying to get Reactor 3 to work with it.

I downloaded the .lua file, dropped it into the node view and it seemed to install correctly.
I can now open Reactor from the menu and I tried to install a few tools. Everything seems fine and Reactor says that they are installed,but none of them shows up in the Davinci Resolve Effects Library. Also searching for them with Shift+Space does not show them.

I don't know if I am the mistake here, or the software...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated :)