In light of the Coronavirus crisis, please help make sure nothing stands in the way of social distancing in the VFX industry.

This petition asks the MPAA to act accordingly:


Sign the petition on Change.org

Be safe, everyone.

How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
Rhys Alu
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:04 pm

How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#1

Post by Rhys Alu » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:16 pm

Hi, I tried different versions of linux. No firewall.

Somebody told me I have to install through Fusion Standalone but I don't have a Fusion dongle.

I tried dragging both .lua and .fu into the DaFusion node viewer and nothing happens. Only .lua shows an error in Console "...Install/Blackmagic/Plugins/Reactor/Reactor-Installer.lua:1: unexpected symbol near '<' "

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#2

Post by AndrewHazelden » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:38 pm

Hi @Rhys Alu.

Welcome to the WSL community. :)

Please check these WSL posts out for suggested temporary workarounds to the Reactor for Resolve on Linux issues:

Reactor 3 Release Announcement
https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... 725#p25725

Resolve on Linux Lua curl FFI Support Broken - Blocks Reactor from Running
https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... 618#p25618
Rhys Alu wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:16 pm
Somebody told me I have to install through Fusion Standalone but I don't have a Fusion dongle.
You can grab a copy of the slightly older Fusion (Free) v9.0.2 for Linux installer from the WSL post below and use it to run the Reactor installer script and the Reactor GUI. The Fusion (Free) GUI session downloaded Reactor content will then be used by Resolve on Linux's PathMap preference setting as the source of the additional content.


https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... =16&t=3444

Good Luck. Feel free to ask any questions as you go through this process.
Last edited by AndrewHazelden on Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Rhys Alu
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#3

Post by Rhys Alu » Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:43 pm

Thanks Andrew!

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4229
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#4

Post by SecondMan » Mon Nov 04, 2019 11:24 pm

Rhys Alu wrote:
Mon Nov 04, 2019 9:16 pm
"...Install/Blackmagic/Plugins/Reactor/Reactor-Installer.lua:1: unexpected symbol near '<' "
There isn't a < character on line 1 of the installer script. Perhaps your browser tried to download it as an HTML file (which typically has <> tags in it). Make sure it's a Lua file, you can open it in a text editor and see the description and version number in the top lines, should be 3.141 for the latest.

User avatar
tao000
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 9:48 am
Real name: shaked halle

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#5

Post by tao000 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:21 am

i have a problem after Download free resolve 16.2 on mac osx mojave i try to instal reaktor 3
and its Gets stuck in the installation procec
Image

Please help please

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4229
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#6

Post by SecondMan » Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:42 am

@tao000 does this help? viewtopic.php?f=32&t=3663

User avatar
tao000
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 9:48 am
Real name: shaked halle

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#7

Post by tao000 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:37 am

not reely I tried to delete the folder reaktor form my mac ans instal Install again and again reaktor several times

And I stayed with the same result The installation bar is stuck as in the picture

I'm afraid it's because of the latest version 16.2

I will do a downgrade upgrade

And see if it works

thanks anyway :-)

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4229
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 15
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#8

Post by SecondMan » Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:49 am

tao000 wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:37 am
not reely I tried to delete the folder reaktor form my mac ans instal Install again and again reaktor several times
No, I meant the solution offered in the OP:

Code: Select all

sudo yum install libcurl-devel
Repeating the same action several times while expecting different results tends to be classified into the lesser productive side of things :)

User avatar
tao000
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 9:48 am
Real name: shaked halle

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#9

Post by tao000 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:15 pm

i try the command line "sudo yum install libcurl-devel"

It didn't work because I'm on Mac system

Because there is a familiarity between the systems I ran the command in the terminal

But the same result

I thank you for your help :-)

User avatar
tao000
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 9:48 am
Real name: shaked halle

Re: How to get Reactor to install on DaVinci 16 on Linux

#10

Post by tao000 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:49 pm

after downgrade from resolve 16.2 to 16.1

reaktor install and work perfect :-)