Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

Advanced Edge Extend  [SUBMITTED]

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Advanced Edge Extend

#1

Post by Millolab » Sat Nov 09, 2019 10:09 am

Here you'll fine a tool for extend your edges using a different approach then the good old Alpha Divide/Blur.
this is based on the clean plate node. This is not supposed to be a total replacement of the old tool, but a nice add-on to the toolset.
First thing you want to do is to have a look at you alpha and adjust it using the related slider and the erode one

Image

Then you can use the other display option to monitor the way your extension will mix with your BG or the final composit or the extension only.

Image

You can also renosie and color correct your extension if needed.

Image
com.Millolab.AdvancedEdgeExtend.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4503
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#2

Post by SecondMan » Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:21 am

Available in Reactor! :cheer:

Adjusted Atom below. Directory structure mismatch, and Atom Deploy didn't match the filename of the Macro (spaces).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
eliottgaumont
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#3

Post by eliottgaumont » Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:20 pm

It seems that it is not tested for fu9 TRUTH?

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#4

Post by Millolab » Tue Feb 25, 2020 11:43 pm

eliottgaumont wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:20 pm
It seems that it is not tested for fu9 TRUTH?
It’s been a while now. I can’t recall. What issues did you encounter?

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#5

Post by Millolab » Wed Feb 26, 2020 9:43 am

eliottgaumont wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:20 pm
It seems that it is not tested for fu9 TRUTH?
Image

works correctly here.

User avatar
eliottgaumont
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:33 am

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#6

Post by eliottgaumont » Wed Feb 26, 2020 12:14 pm

Hell, I think I did it wrong, can you pass that little pipe here to compare? thanks

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#7

Post by Millolab » Mon Jun 01, 2020 7:53 am

Prodly presenting v2.0 of this Edge extend Macro.
It's been completely rewritten. I made it significantly faster, but I removed some features, like the color correction and the regrain, but since you can output the extension only that shouldn't be a problem at all.

Here the new UI

Image


@SecondMan again, I changed the name to ml_AdvancedEdgeExtend. Maybe it's worth removing the older version from Reactor?
and here the atom!
com.Millolab.ml_AdvancedEdgeExtend.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 9
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#8

Post by AndrewHazelden » Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:06 am

Hi @Millolab.
Millolab wrote:@SecondMan again, I changed the name to ml_AdvancedEdgeExtend. Maybe it's worth removing the older version from Reactor?
and here the atom!
Due to the way the Reactor GitLab syncing code has been written, and the desire to not trash any end-user files that have been placed or modified/customized inside the Reactor: PathMap folder location:

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Reactor\


When you rename an atom package .atom file that is already cached in someone's local copy of Reactor, the old atom file will still be saved and present in the Pathmap folder "Reactor:/Atoms/Reactor/.

If you want the name of the atom to look visually different inside of the Reactor GUI to the end-user, that is typically just a modification to the atom's Name and Author field's here:

Code: Select all

Atom {
	Name = "",
	Author = "",
}
Last edited by AndrewHazelden on Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#9

Post by Millolab » Mon Jun 01, 2020 8:14 am

Hey @AndrewHazelden
Thanks for the info!

So what do you suggest doing?
Keep the old name?

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 9
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#10

Post by AndrewHazelden » Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:23 am

A quote comes to mind in a situation like this:
George Bernard Shaw wrote:The reasonable man adapts himself to the world: the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.

A simple-ish solution, that could be implemented in no-time-flat, would be to have a revision made to the code that powers the "Reactor > Reactor Preferences... menu item. The revision to the Reactor Preferences window would look, maybe, a bit like this image here:


Image


By adding a new [x]Clean Atoms Cache Folder on Resync checkbox the user could have Reactor perform a forced spring-cleaning on the legacy files in the "Reactor:/Atoms/Reactor/" folder automatically when a resync event is requested.

Then when a user decides they want to run the "Reactor > Tools > Resync Repository... command, they would have a 1:1 match with the active state of the atom package definition files in the GitLab Reactor repo.


Image

Long term speaking, a revision to the Reactor Core syncing code might be helpful too. But that likely isn't a fast turn around thing.

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#11

Post by Millolab » Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:35 am

I think this one could easily overwrite the old one. :D

Here the new Atom
com.Millolab.AdvancedEdgeExtend.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4503
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 28
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 122 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#12

Post by SecondMan » Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:30 am

AndrewHazelden wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:23 am
a bit like this image here
What do you have in that Rogue menu, @AndrewHazelden ? :D

User avatar
Kaleb
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:02 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#13

Post by Kaleb » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:24 pm

Prodly presenting v2.0 of this Edge extend Macro.

I feel the old version of repairing edges is better than the new version.This is my comparison.
Image

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 9
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 33 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#14

Post by AndrewHazelden » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:32 pm

SecondMan wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:30 am
AndrewHazelden wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 10:23 am
a bit like this image here
What do you have in that Rogue menu, @AndrewHazelden ? :D
About 6 months of development time. And a Pandora's box of gadgets. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 84 times
Contact:

Re: Advanced Edge Extend

#15

Post by Millolab » Tue Jun 02, 2020 12:19 am

Kaleb wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:24 pm
I feel the old version of repairing edges is better than the new version.This is my comparison.
I have to disagree.
I made quite a good amount of testing. 😊
Both macro share the same core technique. The new one has been optimized. On your example you have the “recover blacks” at like 50%. If you want that result, just set the Black Details at 50%.
But in the end, no one keeps you from using the old one!

Added in 1 minute 58 seconds:
AndrewHazelden wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:32 pm
About 6 months of development time. And a Pandora's box of gadgets.
@AndrewHazelden I love Pandora’s box of gadgets!!! 🥳🥳🎉🎉