Where does Resolve store system settings?

llamafilm
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 8:42 am

Where does Resolve store system settings?

#1

Post by llamafilm » Fri May 24, 2019 7:57 am

I'm looking for a way to enable Python scripting without launching the GUI. I guess this is stored in a database somewhere but I haven't found it yet. Does anybody know?
I would also like to find a way to activate and deactivate a software license code programmatically.


llamafilm
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Where does Resolve store system settings?

#2

Post by llamafilm » Thu May 30, 2019 5:42 pm

I found it. The line is System.Scripting.Mode in the file .config.data
0 = off
1 = local
2 = remote

Linux: /opt/resolve/configs/
macOS: /Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve
Windows: C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences

In Resolve 16 this is moving to the user directory instead of system-wide.

There is also config.dat which is similar but doesn't seem to have any effect.

Still looking for a way to activate a license programatically.

User avatar
Iddos
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:21 pm

Re: Where does Resolve store system settings?

#3

Post by Iddos » Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:02 pm

Very interesting.
So by changing the System.Scripting.Mode from 1 to 2 will enable scripting without running the program?
Can you show a small example on how its done?

User avatar
Igor Ridanovic
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Where does Resolve store system settings?

#4

Post by Igor Ridanovic » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:06 pm

I believe this is just where the user accessible setting from the Resolve preferences is saved. There is a scripting option with these exact values in the preferences. Most of the API methods have to do with Media Pool and items that only exit in the context of a running Resolve instance. There'd be little to script with a Resolve not running. For that kind of functionality one needs to write to the DB directly.

llamafilm
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 23, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Where does Resolve store system settings?

#5

Post by llamafilm » Fri Jun 21, 2019 10:18 pm

Igor the reason I needed that is to configure a headless render machine running in -rr mode.

User avatar
Igor Ridanovic
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:17 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Where does Resolve store system settings?

#6

Post by Igor Ridanovic » Mon Jun 24, 2019 5:21 pm

That's pretty cool. The API doesn't function at all when Preferences or Project Settings are open in V15. Of course, you don't need those two in -rr mode, but I wonder if for any reason the API would not want to connect when in -rr.