Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

[RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

Where the future is being made, today.

Welcome to the WSL development corner!

In this forum, please post your development projects. You get kudos and feedback here.
Topics ideally have preset prefixes, and this is what they (might) mean:

  • [DEV] - very much work in progress, don't build a business on this, could go anywhere
  • [BETA] - should kinda do what it's supposed to do, please test, give feedback
  • [RC] - this may end up in Reactor soon, polishing up, now's the time for last minute thoughts
  • [ABD] - died a premature death, sadness, will not see the light of day ever (unless someone picks up the scraps)

Once a development project has been released (hurray), topics can be marked as - you guessed it - [RELEASED] :cheer:

Development topics only, please. For generic questions, how-to's, questions and inquiries about existing tools etc, please go to the appropriate other forums.
User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 4
Been thanked: 114 times
Contact:

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#31

Post by Millolab » Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:50 am

@SecondMan I did some testing using Metadata, and (don't know if it's a but or not) it seems I can't use values in a Point expression. I have to pass through a slider control and refrerence that slider control in the point expression. Sounds like a bug to me. Also, things get very slow using metadata.
I think I'll stick with my solution until I found a better way to implement metadata.
Need to check all the naming issues and will submit again! :)

User avatar
bryanfordney
Fusioneer
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2019 1:10 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#32

Post by bryanfordney » Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:47 pm

Excellent work. It's awesome!!!

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 4
Been thanked: 114 times
Contact:

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#33

Post by Millolab » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:23 am

bryanfordney wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 7:47 pm
Excellent work. It's awesome!!!
Thanks! :)

User avatar
Pixelmonk
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#34

Post by Pixelmonk » Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:45 am

I bought the preset pack.

what's the best way to attach the position of the flare center to a Locator3D (or light in 3D space)? I tried publishing the Locator3D translation but it doesn't seem to work correctly. I think it's because the coordinate systems don't match up. For instance, if my Locator3D is located in -50, 20, 4 (X, Y, Z), the same coordinates for the flare will not produce any visible flare elements, even if I boost everything to 100,000 (I tried). is it because the flare fuse is computing screen space?

What I was trying to do is attach a lens flare to a point in 3D space to represent the sun. I could also see this being useful for attaching flares to rocket exhaust, ships, lasers, etc that all potentially have access to 3D data from a 3D render. And yes, I'm aware lens flares aren't a 3D effect when it comes to cinematography. But Optical Flares in AE can be used in 3D space.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1982
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 19
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 155 times
Contact:

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#35

Post by Midgardsormr » Wed Nov 18, 2020 7:31 am

Locator3D has an auxiliary output in screen space. You don't need to publish anything. Just make sure your camera is in the SceneInput (yellow), and Connect To > Locator3D# > Position.

Code: Select all

{
	Tools = ordered() {
		Locator3D1 = Locator3D {
			Inputs = {
				SceneInput = Input {
					SourceOp = "Camera3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				["Transform3DOp.Translate.X"] = Input { Value = 1.101, },
				CameraSettings = Input { Value = 1, },
				CameraSelector = Input { Value = FuID { "Camera3D1" }, },
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				UseFrameFormatSettings = Input { Value = 1, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 522.667, 100.697 } },
		},
		Camera3D1 = Camera3D {
			Inputs = {
				["Transform3DOp.Translate.X"] = Input { Value = 1.94908409991463, },
				["Transform3DOp.Translate.Z"] = Input { Value = 14.5572133696299, },
				AoV = Input { Value = 19.2642683071402, },
				["Stereo.Mode"] = Input { Value = FuID { "OffAxis" }, },
				FilmGate = Input { Value = FuID { "BMD_URSA_4K_16x9" }, },
				ApertureW = Input { Value = 0.831496062992126, },
				ApertureH = Input { Value = 0.467716535433071, },
				["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 1, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 293.333, 100.364 } },
		},
		Ellipse1 = EllipseMask {
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Filter = Input { Value = FuID { "Fast Gaussian" }, },
				MaskWidth = Input { Value = 1920, },
				MaskHeight = Input { Value = 1080, },
				PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
				ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
				Center = Input {
					SourceOp = "Locator3D1",
					Source = "Position",
				},
				Width = Input { Value = 0.049540298475692, },
				Height = Input { Value = 0.049540298475692, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 585.333, 61.0303 } },
		},
		Renderer3D1 = Renderer3D {
			CustomData = {
				ToolVersion = 2,
			},
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				SceneInput = Input {
					SourceOp = "Merge3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				CameraSelector = Input { Value = FuID { "Camera3D1" }, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Channels.RGBA.HighQuality.Enable"] = Input { Value = 1, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Supersampling.HighQuality.RateX"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Supersampling.HighQuality.RateY"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Color.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Supersampling.HighQuality.RateX"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Supersampling.HighQuality.RateY"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.LowQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 2, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AntiAliasing.Presets.Aux.Multisampling.HighQuality.SampleCount"] = Input { Value = 3, },
				["RendererOpenGL.AccumQuality"] = Input { Value = 32, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 711.333, 132.818 } },
			SubInputsData = {
				RendererOpenGL = {
					Version = 1
				}
			}
		},
		Merge3D1 = Merge3D {
			Inputs = {
				SceneInput1 = Input {
					SourceOp = "Locator3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				SceneInput2 = Input {
					SourceOp = "Merge3D2",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 571.333, 137.939 } },
		},
		Merge3D2 = Merge3D {
			Inputs = {
				SceneInput1 = Input {
					SourceOp = "Camera3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
				SceneInput2 = Input {
					SourceOp = "Shape3D1",
					Source = "Output",
				},
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 404, 137.606 } },
		},
		Shape3D1 = Shape3D {
			Inputs = {
				["Transform3DOp.Translate.Z"] = Input { Value = 0.77507087857013, },
				Shape = Input { Value = FuID { "SurfaceSphereInputs" }, },
				["MtlStdInputs.MaterialID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
				["SurfacePlaneInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 2, },
				["SurfaceSphereInputs.Radius"] = Input { Value = 0.24, },
				["SurfaceSphereInputs.ObjectID.ObjectID"] = Input { Value = 3, }
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 294, 137.606 } },
		}
	}
}

User avatar
yannis
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:53 pm
Location: Paris (France)
Contact:

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#36

Post by yannis » Wed Nov 18, 2020 2:13 pm

Vito also explained it in this video :

(about the Locator3D, it starts at 12mn30)

User avatar
Millolab
Fusionista
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Answers: 4
Been thanked: 114 times
Contact:

Re: [RC] LFTools - Lens Flares macros for Fusion

#37

Post by Millolab » Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:44 am

Pixelmonk wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 3:45 am
I bought the preset pack.

what's the best way to attach the position of the flare center to a Locator3D (or light in 3D space)? I tried publishing the Locator3D translation but it doesn't seem to work correctly. I think it's because the coordinate systems don't match up. For instance, if my Locator3D is located in -50, 20, 4 (X, Y, Z), the same coordinates for the flare will not produce any visible flare elements, even if I boost everything to 100,000 (I tried). is it because the flare fuse is computing screen space?

What I was trying to do is attach a lens flare to a point in 3D space to represent the sun. I could also see this being useful for attaching flares to rocket exhaust, ships, lasers, etc that all potentially have access to 3D data from a 3D render. And yes, I'm aware lens flares aren't a 3D effect when it comes to cinematography. But Optical Flares in AE can be used in 3D space.

hey @Pixelmonk sorry. I missed your post here.
@Midgardsormr and @yannis already gave you the answer.
Thanks guys! :)