Welcome to WSL!

New to the forum? Please read this and this.

[DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

Where the future is being made, today.

Welcome to the WSL development corner!

In this forum, please post your development projects. You get kudos and feedback here.
Topics ideally have preset prefixes, and this is what they (might) mean:

  • [DEV] - very much work in progress, don't build a business on this, could go anywhere
  • [BETA] - should kinda do what it's supposed to do, please test, give feedback
  • [RC] - this may end up in Reactor soon, polishing up, now's the time for last minute thoughts
  • [ABD] - died a premature death, sadness, will not see the light of day ever (unless someone picks up the scraps)

Once a development project has been released (hurray), topics can be marked as - you guessed it - [RELEASED] :cheer:

Development topics only, please. For generic questions, how-to's, questions and inquiries about existing tools etc, please go to the appropriate other forums.
User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

[DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#1

Post by SecondMan »

Loop For Fusion

image.png

Happy New Year everyone!

Loop is a new and free toolset for Blackmagic Design Fusion that allows you to create interesting, wonderful and delightfully unpredictable visuals.

Development version in Reactor now! :cheer:

It enables you to create "iterative loops" by continuously rendering over itself. You do this by building an effect between a startpoint and an endpoint in your comp. Loop will render out this effect as an image and use that same image as the input for the next render. You can render image sequences and also have multiple iterations per single frame. There's a demo setup included which should make all that clear.

Loop consists of two tools:
  • LoopStart
  • LoopEnd
which will be installed in the Tools menu under Macros/Loop.

To connect LoopStart to LoopEnd, drag the LoopStart node from the Flow View into the Loop Start input field of the LoopEnd node (in the Inspector View).

All the clever stuff is handled with a set of scripts controlled by the LoopEnd node. Just press buttons at this point :)
Also included is a comp file demonstrating "Reaction Diffusion", which is the process used to create this mesmerizing Loop trailer on Youtube:



NOTE: this is a first development version release. You may come across issues, and a lot of planned features aren't implemented yet. However, the tool is simple enough to be reliably used in production should you want to do so.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
JiiPii
Fusioneer
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#2

Post by JiiPii »

Totally cool - it's fun to play with. I animated the lettering in the example comp and now somehow expected that it would produce a tracer like the trail tool, since the "old" image is used again as an input. But somehow this doesn't happen. The lettering first follows the animation, but reinforces the coordinates and moves out of the image, which the original animation does not. I probably didn't understand something correctly.
Fantastic programming, had never seen macros like this before.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#3

Post by SecondMan »

Thank you :)

I'd have to see your setup to know for sure, but if you want to emulate a Trails tool, you have to insert the animation inside the loop, or it won't be used. Loop will only ever take one image from the LoopStart input and iterate on top of that.

I'll include a Trails setup example for you in the next update.

Added in 7 minutes 58 seconds:
Actually I just went ahead and put one in there. Update in Reactor please :)

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 874
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 4

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#4

Post by Kristof »

Tried clicking the "Thanks" button, but it doesn't register for some reason. So thanks for the macro, Pieter!

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2377
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#5

Post by SirEdric »

Awesome stuff, Pieter!
Awesome stuff as always!!!

User avatar
JiiPii
Fusioneer
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#6

Post by JiiPii »

SecondMan wrote: Sun Jan 03, 2021 2:44 pm
I'll include a Trails setup example for you in the next update.

Added in 7 minutes 58 seconds:
Actually I just went ahead and put one in there. Update in Reactor please :)
Thank you very much, that opened my eyes. I just put a transform node between the start and end. Of course that doesn't work, because the whole picture is shifted (not really thinking about it, ouch)

PS: Somehow the update doesn't work for me in the Reactor. The two atoms (ColorMatch and Loop) remain green after the update and the Comp is not in the directory. Is that a mistake with me?

User avatar
theotheo
Fusionista
Posts: 390
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 8:35 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#7

Post by theotheo »

Fantastic work Secondman! There's so much fun stuff you can do once you can access "temporal buffers" this way!

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 697
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 7
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Real name: Sam Treadway
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#8

Post by intelligent machine »

Kristof wrote: Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:14 amTried clicking the "Thanks" button, but it doesn't register for some reason. So thanks for the macro, Pieter!
I run into this occasionally as well when I open up a topic from an RSS feed. After refreshing the page it usually does work.

But even thought I did click the thank you button. I'll still say it again here: Thank you Pieter!

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#9

Post by SecondMan »

You're welcome all!

If you have some fun loops to share, post them here and I'll include them in the package.
JiiPii wrote: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:50 amSomehow the update doesn't work for me in the Reactor.
Should be good now, I forgot to add the new comp to the Deploy list in the Atom.

User avatar
JiiPii
Fusioneer
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#10

Post by JiiPii »

I'm in a bit of training with creating shader toy fuses and so I thought I'd do one for the SuckLessLoop. I hope you like it.




Discharge.fuse
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
thibaud
Fusioneer
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:23 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#11

Post by thibaud »

@SecondMan Great stuff
and +1 for the soundtrack choice

User avatar
JiiPii
Fusioneer
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#12

Post by JiiPii »

I actually wanted to upload the Discharge.fuse with a WSL logo here. I find it kind of cool. But the fuse is recognized as an attack.
Image

Image

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#13

Post by SecondMan »

Oh! Have never seen that one before, looks like fun :)

Try uploading the file without the logo. I bet there's something about embedded Base64 in text uploads that the forum doesn't like. If that works, I'll fiddle some more and see if I can circumvent that...

User avatar
JiiPii
Fusioneer
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 8:34 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#14

Post by JiiPii »

A second attempt, this time I don't have the Base64 code at the beginning of the fuse.
Discharge.fuse
And now it works.....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4794
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Suck Less Loop | Iterative Loops in Blackmagic Design Fusion

#15

Post by SecondMan »

Myeah thought so...

Now try again with the Base64 one please?