Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#181

Post by Kristof » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:03 am

Try adding "fu:PurgeCache()" to your Cryptomatte node.

Tags:

mikedunn
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#182

Post by mikedunn » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:07 pm

Kristof wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:03 am
Try adding "fu:PurgeCache()" to your Cryptomatte node.

Excuse my ignorance. How does one do that?

mikedunn
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:31 pm

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#183

Post by mikedunn » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:33 pm

mikedunn wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:07 pm
Kristof wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:03 am
Try adding "fu:PurgeCache()" to your Cryptomatte node.

Excuse my ignorance. How does one do that?
Figured it out. Put it in "Frame Render Script" in Cryptomatte node. I have run multiple tests with it on and off and I am happy ( very very happy ) to say that it works.

Kind of obvious but you only need to put it in one Cryptomatte node if you have more than one.


Many many thanks Kristof.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#184

Post by Kristof » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:54 pm

Hi Mike,

Glad I could help. However, this is just a workaround and not a genuine fix and it doesn't always help. But it does glitch less frequent. We use it in production (several cryptomatte nodes, multiple datasets as input), rendering comps on a renderfarm, and usually they come out fine that way.

If we can find the exact cause, a fix will be released.

inohide
Fusioneer
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2014 1:49 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#185

Post by inohide » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:52 pm

Hi,

I found that Shortcut "Shift+A" conflicts with that of polygon mask. This is a little inconvenient.

Thank you.

flokart
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:31 am

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#186

Post by flokart » Thu Mar 08, 2018 1:02 am

Hi,

has anybody tried Cryptomatte exr.files from blender in fusion.
I created some test images from blender and in blender it works but unfortunatly some error apears in fusion (last fusion version and cryptomatte with reactor).
Error

Code: Select all

Cryptomatte1 failed at time 0
...ion\Reactor\Deploy\Modules\Lua\cryptomatte_utilities.lua:335: attempt to index a nil value
stack traceback:
	...ion\Reactor\Deploy\Modules\Lua\cryptomatte_utilities.lua:335: in function 'get_manifest_string'
	...ion\Reactor\Deploy\Modules\Lua\cryptomatte_utilities.lua:362: in function 'parse_manifest'
	...esign\Fusion\Reactor\Deploy\Fuses\Matte\cryptomatte.fuse:461: in function <...esign\Fusion\Reactor\Deploy\Fuses\Matte\cryptomatte.fuse:449>
Cryptomatte1 failed at time 0
Would be great it this could work

User avatar
pingking
Fusionista
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:10 am
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#187

Post by pingking » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:09 am

The blender implementation does not save manifest file right now.
I think Stefan Werner, who implemented cryptomatte in blender, mentioned that somewhere

flokart
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 12:31 am

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#188

Post by flokart » Thu Mar 08, 2018 2:53 am

Thanks for the Info

User avatar
pingking
Fusionista
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:10 am
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#189

Post by pingking » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:14 pm

proof for my statement:

Currently it is not writing or writing a manifest, that is still on the to-do list.
https://blenderartists.org/forum/showth ... ost3256039

MarcWinter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:46 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#190

Post by MarcWinter » Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:20 am

Hi,

if anyone is interested in here my workflow to extract "beautyMattes" from exrCryptoMattes:

I wrote a utilityScript "ExtractMatte.py" which
askes with a little gui "ExtractMatte.ui" for the files
and then makes some magic ;) (with the staticmethod execute)
  • create a new empty comp
  • create loaders for the files
  • create a cryptomatteExtractor.fuse which extracts all or a locationSpecific cryptoName(s) from exr
  • create the desired cryptomatte.fuses to create the mattes
  • create cryptomatteBlackImageFinder.fuses which checks for blackMattes to skip them
  • create mergeNodes to create the beautyMattes
  • create desired the savers
  • render it
  • cleanItUp, remove frameIndex,...
  • use gimp in batch with "python-layer.py" to combine results to some multilayer psd's
It is still work in progress but i hope you like it.
Constructive criticism is always welcome
Best regards Marc
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by MarcWinter on Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:31 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#191

Post by Kristof » Thu Mar 15, 2018 2:49 am

Hey Marc, that is pretty cool what you did and it is nice to see people coming up with new ways to implement Crypto into their particular workflow! Thanks for sharing and contributing. :)

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#192

Post by Kristof » Thu Mar 15, 2018 12:03 pm

inohide wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:52 pm
Hi,

I found that Shortcut "Shift+A" conflicts with that of polygon mask. This is a little inconvenient.

Thank you.
You're right, Inohide. Thanks for the feedback.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 2806
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 114 times
Contact:

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#193

Post by SecondMan » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:22 pm

MarcWinter wrote:
Thu Mar 15, 2018 1:20 am
i cant upload uiFiles, could we add this fileType? I have renamed it :shock:

You can now :)

MarcWinter
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2015 11:46 pm
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#194

Post by MarcWinter » Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:31 am

:banana: thx SecondMan

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: Psyop's Cryptomatte In Fusion

#195

Post by AndrewHazelden » Thu Apr 26, 2018 3:29 am

MarcWinter wrote:
Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:58 am
Hi,
Im trying to create a workflow to use cryptomatte in Photoshop.
Hi Marc.

I wanted to mention that Brendan Bolles of Fnordware has recently put together a beta implementation of Cryptomatte for Adobe products. You can check it out based upon the following link to a Cryptomatte GitHub issues thread post written by Psyop's Jonah Friedman:

https://github.com/Psyop/Cryptomatte/is ... -384308494