Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

JPDoc
Fusioneer
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:26 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#106

Post by JPDoc » Sat Jan 12, 2019 9:33 am

second that!

User avatar
BrainSmashR
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:15 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#107

Post by BrainSmashR » Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:35 pm

Can anyone tell me if this will work in the free version of DaVinci Resolve (15.2.2.007) and on an average home PC (16g's of ram & a GTX1070) ?

User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#108

Post by JUNE » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:15 pm

BrainSmashR wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:35 pm
Can anyone tell me if this will work in the free version of DaVinci Resolve (15.2.2.007) and on an average home PC (16g's of ram & a GTX1070) ?
Currently DaVinci Resolve 15 isn't supported.

User avatar
BrainSmashR
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:15 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#109

Post by BrainSmashR » Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:20 pm

Bummer....but at least now I can stop trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong :)

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#110

Post by SecondMan » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:59 pm

BrainSmashR wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:20 pm
Bummer

Just use Fusion Standalone then. Works a treat!

User avatar
BrainSmashR
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:15 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#111

Post by BrainSmashR » Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:01 am

SecondMan wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:59 pm
BrainSmashR wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 5:20 pm
Bummer

Just use Fusion Standalone then. Works a treat!
Thought about that shortly after my last post, and sure enough, BM offers a free version of Fusion 9 too, and while It not identical to the version found in DaVinci, it's was close enough for me to play with it. So I spent half the night tinkering with a "flaming text" idea from "A Blackbird called Sue" I found on Youtube back around Halloween. That's how long ago I purchased fractalnoise and last night was literally the first time I've gotten any use out of it. Was starting to think I had lost my nerd mojo :D :D :D

Anyway, below is a 43 second clip with the 2 versions I came up with last night...not too shabby, IMO, considering Windows Movie Maker was my go to until April or May of 2018.


User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 70 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#112

Post by SecondMan » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:16 am

Well done and welcome to Fusion and We Suck Less! :)

PS. No need to put YouTube links in [url] tags. Those are embedded automatically here.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 1
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 80 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#113

Post by SirEdric » Sat Jan 19, 2019 10:11 am

BrainSmashR wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:01 am
BM offers a free version of Fusion 9 too, and while It not identical to the version found in DaVinci,
Totally true. It's (by far) way superior in most aspects...:-)

3dmus
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 3:14 am

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#114

Post by 3dmus » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:16 pm

Looks good BrainsmashR :-) I should have mentioned in my video that it indeed requires Fusion standalone

cheers, Okke (aka Blackbird called Sue ;-) )

laticrete
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:50 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#115

Post by laticrete » Thu Feb 21, 2019 1:25 am

get an error:
...magic Design\Fusion 9\Fuses\OpenCL\CGS_FractalNoise.fuse:3031: attempt to index global 'mgr' (a nil value)
stack traceback:
...magic Design\Fusion 9\Fuses\OpenCL\CGS_FractalNoise.fuse:3031: in function <...magic Design\Fusion 9\Fuses\OpenCL\CGS_FractalNoise.fuse:2972>
FractalNoise1 failed at time 0
help anyone?

User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#116

Post by JUNE » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:21 am

Can you provide screenshots of the error?
System?

laticrete
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:50 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#117

Post by laticrete » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:26 am

JUNE wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:21 am
Can you provide screenshots of the error?
System?
Win10
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1756
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 1
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 80 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#118

Post by SirEdric » Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:52 am

Looks like you're running Fusion Free?
Although Fuses *should* work in the free version (as opposed to plugins), some things in Fuses might not work as expected....:-/

laticrete
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:50 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#119

Post by laticrete » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:03 am

SirEdric wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 2:52 am
Looks like you're running Fusion Free?
Although Fuses *should* work in the free version (as opposed to plugins), some things in Fuses might not work as expected....:-/
Exactly, fusion free.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#120

Post by intelligent machine » Fri Feb 22, 2019 5:56 am

The 'mgr' variable references OCLManager. Do you have OpenCL disabled completely in the Fusion preferences?