Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 25 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#91

Post by intelligent machine » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:36 pm

Hi Vito, @vivi

Maybe you didn't catch it...the error has been fixed in the latest release! ^^^

ThierryBergeron
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#92

Post by ThierryBergeron » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:39 am


User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#93

Post by JUNE » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:05 am

ThierryBergeron wrote:
Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:39 am

ImageImage

what's wrong here?

User avatar
French_Fry
Fusionista
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#94

Post by French_Fry » Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:41 am

Quick question: So Fractal Noise just stopped working. It gives me a blank screen. I used it all last week and it was fine. I've rebooted Fusion and my machine, and nothing, it's not even trying. Is there a way to force it to recompile? Or purge some sort of openCl cache...it's very odd. I haven't tried reinstalling.

GTX Titan, win 10 and Fusion 9.02

EDIT: Ugh...so user error. I had used a script to turn off openCL in my merges ( courtesy of @AndrewHazelden ) and I think I hit the wrong button and turned off openCL in all my tools by default. I hope some of that gets fixed in the next version. ( standalone version that is. :) ) Androew your scripts give me too much power! :D

ThierryBergeron
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:43 pm

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#95

Post by ThierryBergeron » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:28 pm

JUNE wrote:
Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:05 am
what's wrong here?

I don't understand... after clicking Verbose console messages in the options it started working...

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1641
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 1
Been thanked: 58 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#96

Post by SirEdric » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:29 pm

French_Fry wrote:
Mon Apr 23, 2018 11:41 am
Androew your scripts give me too much power! :D
There's also a derivative of the OpenCL switcher in ScriptScript (available through Reactor) with "selected only" options.
Combine that with the "Set Comments On Tools" you could even semi-automagically customize which tools should be affected by the OpenCL on/off Switchen...:-)

User avatar
French_Fry
Fusionista
Posts: 322
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:04 am
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#97

Post by French_Fry » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:22 pm

Hey @JUNE ,
I think I've run into an issue. It appears that Fractal noise is giving me different results depending on what graphics card is in the computer. Unfortunately, the difference is not minimal.

Here's what I've found so far:
-All systems are on Win 10
-Renders are consistent between same cards ( the GTX Titans render the same, 1080Tis render the same, etc..)
-Driver number doesn't seem to affect the render results. On the farm, all the cards have the same drivers for consistency. Yet, Titans and 1080Ti render differently.
-It's not a render farm thing, as I opened the comp up on different user machines, and the problem persists.
- All the cards supported OpenCL 1.2, but had different CUDA versions

I've attached an image so you can see visually. the same comp opened up on 2 different boxes. You can see the settings pane. @Chad mentioned looking into the OCL cache entree, but I'm not sure how to do that.

Image

If there's anything else I can provide let me know.

Andrew
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 12:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#98

Post by Andrew » Thu Apr 26, 2018 10:57 pm

French_Fry wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:22 pm
I think I've run into an issue. It appears that Fractal noise is giving me different results depending on what graphics card is in the computer. Unfortunately, the
FWIW, my GTX 970 on MacOS 10.12.6 gives results similar to yours. The default settings for Ridged look overexposed (RGBA mostly > 1.0), like the example on the right.

User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#99

Post by JUNE » Fri Apr 27, 2018 6:05 pm

OK, thank you for your feedback. I'll fix it later.

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#100

Post by andromeda_girl » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:45 am

theotheo wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:58 pm
Loving it, having a lot of fun with this tool.

have no idea what i am looking at but it sure is mesmerizing stuff.
did you ever 'finish it'?

User avatar
Mclawest
Fusioneer
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 6:31 am
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#101

Post by Mclawest » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:37 am

theotheo wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 2:58 pm
Loving it, having a lot of fun with this tool.

what theeeaaa...?!?? looks damn great! :shock:

oliiix
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:24 am

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#102

Post by oliiix » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:40 am

Great!!! Exactly what I needed (even a more than expected). Love it and will fit me greatly when creating game VFX!! Thanks for your work! Most of them can be animated nicely, others just scroll through but the noise types you'd expect to animate in a certain way do so how they are supposed to, nice work!

@Edric: it's title says it all. it's additional noise algorithms, nothing to do with shaders here :geek:

User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#103

Post by JUNE » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:30 pm

oliiix wrote:
Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:40 am
Great!!! Exactly what I needed (even a more than expected). Love it and will fit me greatly when creating game VFX!! Thanks for your work! Most of them can be animated nicely, others just scroll through but the noise types you'd expect to animate in a certain way do so how they are supposed to, nice work!

@Edric: it's title says it all. it's additional noise algorithms, nothing to do with shaders here :geek:

Just like it, do more works to see.

User avatar
JUNE
Fusioneer
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 9 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#104

Post by JUNE » Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:08 am

Version 1.1
Fixed bug after upgraded graphics card driver.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3239
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 1
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Fractal Noise for Blackmagic Fusion

#105

Post by SecondMan » Sat Jan 12, 2019 8:17 am

JUNE wrote:
Sat Jan 12, 2019 6:08 am
Version 1.1

Just got the Gumroad email this morning. Good stuff! Thanks JUNE :)