Welcome to WSL!

New to the forum? Please read this and this.

FuRegisterClass() questions

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

FuRegisterClass() questions

#1

Post by Shem Namo »

Hi everyone, hope you're all doing great.

I was wondering, is there a some sort of statement I can add to FuRegisterClass() to make a fuse not appear in the search box,
so that you can only add the fuse as a .setting?

I think the Primatte node used to do this.

Also, is it possible to make a fuse appear with a open tile pic even if the comp doesn't have TilePics enabled?

I know this is a long shot, but I guess it's worth asking.

Thanks in advanced,
David

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 22
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#2

Post by Midgardsormr »

For the first, I don't think so. You wouldn't be able to create the macro itself if you couldn't reference the fuse through AddTool. What's the use case?

For the second, I think you can force a TilePic on a specific tool by script, so theoretically it should be possible to do it in OnAddToFlow().

User avatar
Tolosa Films
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 12:38 am

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#3

Post by Tolosa Films »

Hi,
For the first, have you tried adding 'REG_Hide, true,' to the FuRegisterClass tag list ?
I did that in a C++ plugin and it worked, but I do not know for a fuse.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#4

Post by Shem Namo »

Midgardsormr wrote: Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:34 am For the first, I don't think so. You wouldn't be able to create the macro itself if you couldn't reference the fuse through AddTool. What's the use case?
Hi Bryan, I know this doesn't sound like something very useful, but I'll try to explain what I have in mind.
I'm working on a set of about 15 fuses, they aren't very useful individually, but are designed to work together in a macro.
I just wouldn't want to clutter up the search-bar with all of those fuses.

I also thought that it would be an issue to reference the tools in a macro if they're "Invisible", but using the tag that @Tolosa Films
suggested seems to work fine. The fuses don't come up in a search, but work fine in the macro.

About the TilePic, It turns out that TilePics work differently than I thought.
Apparently, the TilePic that is embedded in the fuse is only displayed when there in no image coming into the fuse.
When there is an image, it just shows the image output of the fuse instead of the embedded TilePic.

Is there any way to make the embedded FusePic the one that is always displayed?
Also, are there any existing scripts that address TilePics?
Tolosa Films wrote: Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:10 pm Hi,
For the first, have you tried adding 'REG_Hide, true,' to the FuRegisterClass tag list ?
I did that in a C++ plugin and it worked, but I do not know for a fuse.
Thank you @Tolosa Films, this is exactly what I'm looking for.
I wrote REG_Hide = true in the fuse, and it works perfectly. :)


Thank you so much guys!!
I really appreciate your help!!
David

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 22
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#5

Post by Midgardsormr »

So do the tools still how up in the menu-based dialogs? It just hides them from the search?

Regarding the TilePic, I thought I'd seen something in the tool attributes at some point, but I may be misremembering. I just took a look through the Scripting Guide, and it doesn't seem to be documented there. Doesn't mean that it's not possible, of course, but I'm not aware of any existing code samples.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#6

Post by Shem Namo »

Midgardsormr wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:00 pm So do the tools still how up in the menu-based dialogs? It just hides them from the search?
I was actually expecting them to still show up in the menu, but they just disappear from both the search-bar and the menus.
Midgardsormr wrote: Sun Oct 25, 2020 3:00 pm Regarding the TilePic, I thought I'd seen something in the tool attributes at some point, but I may be misremembering. I just took a look through the Scripting Guide, and it doesn't seem to be documented there. Doesn't mean that it's not possible, of course, but I'm not aware of any existing code samples.
I really appreciate that you when through the scripting manual looking for a solution!!
Is this the scripting manual? https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... _Guide.pdf

It says it's for Fusion 8, but I can't find a more recent one.

I'll do some searches around WSL, and see if there are scripts that deal with TilePics.

Thanks again Bryan,
I really appreciate you help!!

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 22
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#7

Post by Midgardsormr »

Yep, that's the one. It hasn't been updated since Fu8, and it was incomplete even then. BTW, you may notice references to a Fuse guide in there, too, but don't bother looking for it. As best we can tell, it's never existed.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#8

Post by Shem Namo »

Ah, I get it. It still looks pretty useful, that is if the functions still work. :)

I wanted to ask you this a while ago, is there anything about fuses in the SDK?
The Fusion tool guide says to refer to the SDK for info about fuses, but to get the SDK I would need to sign an NDA.
If I sign the NDA, then I won't be able to do anything with the fuses I write using info from the SDK, since fuses aren't compiled and I can't share the source code, right?
So this looks like some sort Catch-22 situation.

Do you know if this is the case? Am I making a big deal out of nothing?

Thanks again,
David

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2043
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 22
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 11 times
Contact:

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#9

Post by Midgardsormr »

The Fuse API is public—anything you can do as a Fuse will not be covered by the NDA. I have access to the Fusion 7 SDK, and it has hints about things you can do with Fuses, but I don't remember seeing anything in it that was specifically about Fuses.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#10

Post by Shem Namo »

Thanks Bryan, that's great to hear!!
I wonder if BMD, added any fuse documentation to the current SDK.
I'll try asking around.

Thanks again,
I really appreciate your help!!
David

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1565
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#11

Post by Chad »

Shem Namo wrote: Mon Oct 26, 2020 12:35 pm I wonder if BMD, added any fuse documentation to the current SDK.
I'll try asking around.
Well, there's that whole NDA thing... But yeah, you should sign the NDA. I'm not saying it will be helpful, because that would (or would not) be violating the NDA. Who knows? Certainly not me. :wsl:

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Answers: 1
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: FuRegisterClass() questions

#12

Post by Shem Namo »

Thanks Chad, I'll try getting the SDK again