[Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.2*

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1390
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#61

Post by Chad » Sun Sep 13, 2015 7:48 pm

A mac mini will work, but a 5K imac would make debugging faster. :)

There's a bunch of LuaJIT testing that should be done on OSX, but few of us have any incentive or means to do so.

Tags:

User avatar
Tilt
Global Moderator
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:10 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#62

Post by Tilt » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:52 pm

I can do some tests. Anybody have an image they want to have keyed? Too lazy to download those blender movie files ;-)

helgetjelta
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:49 am

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#63

Post by helgetjelta » Fri Dec 18, 2015 12:40 pm

I did some tests today, and KAK is truely the best keyer I have seen... but

i crashes my Fusion 8 Beta2 on my mac... both my macbook pro (at 10.11.2) and my nMP D700 (10.10.5)

Fusion just goes away and finder is back... console gives:

Thread 94 Crashed:: DispatchThread
0 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010284c840 ffi_Image_uncast + 0

and:

Thread 107 Crashed:: DispatchThread
0 libfusionscript.dylib 0x000000010a9b1c1b ScriptVal::Set(ScriptValType, void const*) + 587
1 libfusionscript.dylib 0x000000010a9b2752 ScriptVal::AddKey(ScriptVal const&) + 146
2 libfusionscript.dylib 0x000000010a9b1ec6 ScriptVal::Set(ScriptValType, void const*) + 1270
3 libfusionscript.dylib 0x000000010a9b1f8c ScriptVal::operator=(ScriptVal const&) + 28
4 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010aeda98d Image::Init(TagList const&) + 3405
5 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010aed9b2c Image::Image(TagList const&) + 252
6 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010af0d982 NewImageTagList(TagList const&) + 34
7 libFusionOperators.dylib 0x00000000c23daa4b BetterResize::Process(Request*) + 1867
8 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b29db15 Operator::HandleRequest(Request*) + 14837
9 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b2925e5 Operator::HandleMsg(Message*) + 1029
10 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b4f0b38 ThreadedOperator::ThreadMain() + 88
11 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b4f0800 ThreadedOperatorDispatcher::Dispatch(Object*) + 16
12 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b4edbb2 DispatchThread::ThreadMain() + 338
13 libfusionsystem.dylib 0x000000010b4ed88f ThreadInit(DispatchThread*) + 31
14 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff8a7f8c13 _pthread_body + 131
15 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff8a7f8b90 _pthread_start + 168
16 libsystem_pthread.dylib 0x00007fff8a7f6375 thread_start + 13

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#64

Post by SecondMan » Fri Dec 18, 2015 1:09 pm

Thanks for the compliment! :)

I'm afraid your issue goes beyond the scope of where I can be helpful, though. Seems a lower level crash. I'd recommend sending this to BMD support, send your comp with it.

I have noticed a lot of crashing in BMD Fusion 7 and 8 (win) with more than one KAK in the flow. Pfft. Fusion gone. At some point I'll look through my code and see if there's anything I can make a bit more solid but chances are the problem lies beneath...

Beyond that, I've got some more ideas, as well... ;)

helgetjelta
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:49 am

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#65

Post by helgetjelta » Sat Dec 19, 2015 1:58 am

OK thanks, I've posted it to BMD forums, hopefully it will work later... My key looked so much better with KAK ! Simply the best (if it will stop crashing :) )

User avatar
Tilt
Global Moderator
Posts: 336
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:10 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#66

Post by Tilt » Sat Dec 19, 2015 4:45 am

Maybe we can lobby BMD to include the KAK core as a built-in plugin so that the macro gets smaller - especially if you use more than one.

User avatar
pingking
Fusionista
Posts: 729
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:10 am
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#67

Post by pingking » Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:48 am

Just a BIG thank you for this amazing Macro+Fuse, makes my work so much nicer just right now!

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#68

Post by SecondMan » Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:24 am

:) :) :)

You're welcome pingking!

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1390
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#69

Post by Chad » Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:46 am

Tilt wrote:Maybe we can lobby BMD to include the KAK core as a built-in plugin so that the macro gets smaller - especially if you use more than one.
I haven't looked at the macro since version 1. What's in it that couldn't be in a Fuse? Like why couldn't it be one tool?

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#70

Post by SecondMan » Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:18 am

Chad wrote:
Tilt wrote:Maybe we can lobby BMD to include the KAK core as a built-in plugin so that the macro gets smaller - especially if you use more than one.
I haven't looked at the macro since version 1. What's in it that couldn't be in a Fuse? Like why couldn't it be one tool?
126 nodes including a custom Fuse all linked with expressions. It's certainly possible, but it would be one heck of a macro and honestly, I don't see what benefit it would bring. It's all about the research, which I find easier to do with the native nodes at my disposal. I also doubt it would be any faster (or more stable).

Putting the core (that's the Fuse) into a plugin won't make the macro any smaller, either, so not exactly sure what Tilt meant.

I must add that I have been toying with the idea of building it into a plugin for a while now - and it wouldn't be me just on my own. Let's just say there are vague plans for something, but I wouldn't hold my breath just yet.

User avatar
Chad
Fusionator
Posts: 1390
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:11 pm
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#71

Post by Chad » Sat Jan 09, 2016 11:37 am

The Fuse might not be any slower than a plugin, but Fusion has a HUGE bottleneck when it comes to moving images between tools.

So if you wrote a Fuse that just called Image:Blur, it would be pretty much as fast as the Blur tool. But if you wrote a tool with a loop that called Image:Blur 100 times, it would be MUCH MUCH faster than if you had 100 Blur tools in a row.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#72

Post by SecondMan » Sat Jan 09, 2016 4:58 pm

Sure - ploveday has shown me examples of Fuses that are much faster than a plugin, even. But nonetheless it would be a pretty huge undertaking to get the complexity of its node graph into one nicely working piece of code. Huge for me, that is.

This is a project about building the best keyer I can and I'm happy to share it as such. If there is enough demand to build the most professional, stable and fastest one as well, then it might become a whole other project.

rickvdvulkaan
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 10:55 am

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#73

Post by rickvdvulkaan » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:20 pm

At some points its a superb keyer, but i've been doing some more tests now, and im having a pretty hard time with a few shots. like the first one on this page: http://www.hollywoodcamerawork.com/gree ... lates.html (matchmove test wide)

it looks like it doesnt really work due to all the spill. and i've tried alot of different settings. or am i doing something wrong? can someone test this?

i've tried some things in davinci resolve too (3d keyer), and on this shot it works really great, and its fast. but its still no ''real'' compositor.

also, i almost never(!) get a nice key with primatte. i still use after effects' keylight keyer for the most part, because its fast and good. not great like KAK though..

i would like to switch to fusion for my keying jobs because the way everything works feels good and organized. i've tried to use KAK for my last job, but it was just a tiny little too slow to still be able to focus on the creative part.

does anyone have experience with the newest mac pro?

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#74

Post by andromeda_girl » Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:47 pm

sorry for doing this but I have been away for many years and trying to get back here.
where can I get a download link to kak please?
thanks,
Au

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: [Macro] [KAK] - KAK 3 is here! *Current version: 3.1.1*

#75

Post by SecondMan » Sat Mar 05, 2016 5:00 pm

Welcome back! :)

KAK downloads are in the opening post of this very topic.