Hello 2021!

Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

Show us your bits!

Moderator: Dunn

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4781
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#31

Post by SecondMan »

bowserlm wrote: Mon May 27, 2019 8:22 pm

Any plans on making it so we can just input an Alpha and it takes care of all of that setup?

While that is as fine a request as any other, nothing stops you from making your own quick Macro, or even just a setup that you can save and retrieve in mere seconds, right?

Suppose the functionality were already built in, you wouldn't have learned this cool trick about the Probe Modifier today... :)


User avatar
bowserlm
Fusionista
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:44 pm

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#32

Post by bowserlm »

True!


User avatar
nsf
Fusioneer
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:24 am
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#33

Post by nsf »

sepu66 wrote: Mon May 27, 2019 9:16 am

did you put the templates in

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\Fusion

omg I've been putting it into roaming/ Appdata :bmd:

ok now it works fine :)


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#34

Post by andromeda_girl »

looks very promising but the question is whether or not this works in 3D space or is another 2D space only lens flare toolkit?
Ideally it needs to have the ability of being locked to geo for realistic spatial performance in a shot, and I am not reading [or seeing screenshots of] that capability.
if it does this, then let's see it because I really want to say I'm sold on this!
Au


User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 997
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 9
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#35

Post by ShadowMaker SdR »

Serious question: Lens flares only originate inside the lens anyway. So what's the need for them to work in 3D space?


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2375
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#36

Post by SirEdric »

To lock the X/Y position of a 2D tool to X/Y/Z in 3D you could always use the good ole Locator3D....:-)


User avatar
JUNE
Fusionista
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#37

Post by JUNE »

SirEdric wrote: Tue May 28, 2019 5:19 am

To lock the X/Y position of a 2D tool to X/Y/Z in 3D you could always use the good ole Locator3D....:-)

Yes, that's right!


User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#38

Post by andromeda_girl »

so you can position them to geo in 3D space!
why is this so controversial?

User avatar
sepu66
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#39

Post by sepu66 »

you can grab the 3D position with a locator in 3d and connect it to X and Y position of the optical flare as sirEdric mentioned.

User avatar
bowserlm
Fusionista
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:44 pm

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#40

Post by bowserlm »

Nice thing that Optical Flares has, which is why I think people are missing this feature, is that Optical Flares will also scale the flare up or down based on it coming closer or further from the camera in 3D, so it's not just translating the 3D to screen space XY.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4781
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#41

Post by SecondMan »

Lens flares don't do that :)

But if you want it, you can probe the z depth at the 2D coordinates of the lens flare origin to drive size properties.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 2015
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 22
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#42

Post by Midgardsormr »

Or use the Distance3D Modifier Fuse to get the distance between the camera and the target. Or Pythagoras in an expression if you don't have the Fuse.

User avatar
andromeda_girl
Fusionista
Posts: 533
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 6:25 am

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#43

Post by andromeda_girl »

2D tracked lens flares enter and exit frame differently than 3D placed flares do.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2375
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 3 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#44

Post by SirEdric »

Couldn't that be compensated for by rendering/using overscan?

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4781
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 30
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 18 times
Contact:

Re: Optical Flares for Blackmagic Fusion

#45

Post by SecondMan »

andromeda_girl wrote: Wed Jun 05, 2019 4:56 am 2D tracked lens flares enter and exit frame differently than 3D placed flares do.
Can you tell us more please?

In what way are they different and why?