Welcome to WSL!

Make yourself at home, but before posting, please may I ask you to read the following topics.


Posting 101
Server space, screenshots, and you

Thank you!

PS. please pretty please:


Image

Global Tool Defaults

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
Protean
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:37 pm
Location: www.axisanimation.com

Global Tool Defaults

#1

Post by Protean » Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:10 am

Hi,

I have a small inkling I have asked this before but I what would be really handy is to be able to set tool defaults for a particular show or group of artists. This isn't possible is it? Beyond copying defaults to each users home folder that is.

Cheers,

J

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 14
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 89 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#2

Post by Midgardsormr » Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:47 am

You could do it with path maps. For instance, suppose you had a folder in each project: F:\Project\Fusion\Defaults. Set up a path map for project: -> F:\Project in the comp, which you can set with whatever script or template you use to set up your comp file. Add project:Defaults to the Defaults path map in the Global preferences.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#3

Post by Kristof » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:59 pm

Use custom environment variables you change prior to launching Fusion. You can then change fuse /plugin / etc. versions on a shot / project / user basis.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 4456
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 27
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 109 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#4

Post by SecondMan » Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:37 am

@Kristof at some hypothetical point which involves free time, would you care to write up an article explaining how to use environment variables for workflow purposes in Fusion? A bit like an "Env vars 101" for Fusion?

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#5

Post by Kristof » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:00 am

SecondMan wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:37 am
@Kristof at some hypothetical point which involves free time, would you care to write up an article explaining how to use environment variables for workflow purposes in Fusion? A bit like an "Env vars 101" for Fusion?
Yes, no problem.

User avatar
Protean
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:37 pm
Location: www.axisanimation.com

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#6

Post by Protean » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:25 am

Thanks guys,

Path maps and env vars i can work with so no issues there.

I’ll have to see how wokeable this is in practice. Currently all I’d like to set is tool colour but in order to do so one creates defaults for all the parameters. This then excludes artists from personal defaults.

I’m sure there are workarounds (checking tool colours with event scripts for example). In fact in houdini we set our nide colours with an onCreated command.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 14
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 89 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#7

Post by Midgardsormr » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:45 am

Ahh... That's a little trickier. You'd want to take part of the default from the project and part from the user's profile. I can imagine an approach, but there may be a simpler way.

Code: Select all

On loading or creating a Comp, collect a list containing the user's Defaults stored in their profile 
Collect a list containing the project's Defaults. 
If it does not already exist, create a new comp-specific Defaults folder
Set a path map to that folder

Compare the two lists:
    For each file that is in only one of the lists: 
        place that file into the new Defaults folder
    For each file that is in both lists:
        identify the tables that should be overridden
        create a new setting file 
        place the file into the new Defaults folder

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#8

Post by Kristof » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:12 pm

Protean wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:25 am
Thanks guys,

Path maps and env vars i can work with so no issues there.

I’ll have to see how wokeable this is in practice. Currently all I’d like to set is tool colour but in order to do so one creates defaults for all the parameters. This then excludes artists from personal defaults.

I’m sure there are workarounds (checking tool colours with event scripts for example). In fact in houdini we set our nide colours with an onCreated command.

Hi Protean,


There is another option to change the tools default colours: through a theme. This approach will give you the control you need. Go to your Fusion install dir and look for the "Skins" folder. In it, you will find a "Fusion.fuskin" file which is just a zip file. Make a backup of the original file, unpack the one located in the "Skins" folder to a "Fusion" folder at that same level and delete the original fuskin file.

There's two theme IDs that you will need to use--talking Fu 8 and 9 here. If you use the default theme (blue tinted interface) you need to edit the "Fusion.skin" file that you will find in that folder (ID = "Fu80"). If you activated the neutral grey UI in prefs, edit "Neutral.skin" (ID = "Ne80",)

Look for:

Code: Select all

    Flow = Category {

And edit the tile / text colour pairs assigned to the node categories you want to change the colour of. Categories like "Tool3DColour", "ToolGroupColour" and "ToolUnderlayColour" etc.

Enjoy,



Kristof

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 14
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 89 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#9

Post by Midgardsormr » Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:04 pm

How much granularity do you have in the theme? Could you, for instance, assign a different color to Blur than you do to Filter? Or are the categories much broader?

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#10

Post by SirEdric » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:30 pm

You could do so by assigning different colors to the tools directly in the Flow, and then save those settings as default.
Individual tool colors do not live in the skin.

Cheers.

Eric.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#11

Post by Kristof » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:42 am

@SirEdric : As mentioned by @Protean that setting will also save all other input control values, and clash with what the user would want as default values for non-colour related settings. What I didn't try yet is to see how Fu parses multiple setting files of one tool (with filtered modifications per "catergory"). If it does it the same way as with preferences--combine them--then you could also use that workflow: a setting file for colors only and then one with just the user's default values for that node. Maybe path mapping could help set node colours per project or globally, while storing artist's preferences in another location that Fusion will also look though.

@Midgardsormr These are the categories I know of (if you see "RedCol" that means I didn't identify the attribute yet in the UI):

Code: Select all

        Tool3DColour = Flow3DCol,
        Tool3DLightColour = Flow3DLightCol,
        Tool3DMaterialColour = Flow3DMaterialCol,
        Tool3DTextureColour = Flow3DTextureCol,
        ToolActiveColour = FlowActiveToolCol,
        ToolColour = FlowToolCol,
        ToolFailedColour = FlowFailedToolCol,
        ToolGroupColour = FlowGroupCol,
        ToolMaskColour = FlowMaskCol,
        ToolNoteColour = FlowNoteCol,
        ToolParticleColour = FlowParticleCol,
        ToolSelectedColour = FlowSelectedToolCol,
        ToolSinkColour = RedCol,
        ToolSourceColour = RedCol,
        ToolUnderlayColour = FlowUnderlayCol,
Last edited by Kristof on Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:37 am, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#12

Post by Kristof » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:44 am

You can't seem to use a pre- nor a suffix in the default settings filenames. So creating multiple setting specific files per node isn't possible, as far as I know.

Might need to ask devs to be sure, and perhaps create a wish list topic.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 2310
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 12
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 42 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#13

Post by SirEdric » Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:09 am

Well...Bryan was asking for individual tool colors.
As long as you keep all other values of the tool at their default settings,
there should be no clashing whatsoever....:-)

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1757
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 14
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 89 times
Contact:

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#14

Post by Midgardsormr » Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:55 am

I wasn't asking for anything in particular. I just wanted to know if the skin could address individual tools or just broad categories. Looks like it's broad categories, which rules out using a skin for this purpose. I have to admit that I'm interested in the notion of per-project defaults and how they might be combined with the user's defaults. You'd need to make a decision about which took precedence in the event of a clash. For instance, it might be disconcerting for an artist accustomed to using the Nuke to Fusion tile colors to suddenly have them overridden by project-level settings.

User avatar
Kristof
Fusionista
Posts: 760
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:30 pm
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Global Tool Defaults

#15

Post by Kristof » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:00 pm

Well, I don't agree that skinning would rule this out. Depends totally on how many levels you need.