wireless connections for everybody.

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#31

Post by intelligent machine » Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:12 am

Well I just remembered this script:
http://www.svenneve.com/?p=922

Should assign a Ctrl+D hotkey to this one

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1057
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 1
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 61 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#32

Post by Midgardsormr » Sun Mar 10, 2019 9:31 am

Yeah, that's probably pretty close to what I'll do. I solved the same problem with a precomp script I wrote a while ago—create a Loader and move all the inputs connected to the Saver's output to the Loader's instead.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#33

Post by SecondMan » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:08 am

Small issue with the Wireless Anything.

When instancing the tool, it loses the connection. This in contrast with Wireless Link (Wire) that keeps the connection when instanced.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#34

Post by intelligent machine » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:15 pm

I think as long as the outputs are created with the NotifyChanged function this will be an issue.
I'm trying to figure out how to set an attribute to an output in NotifyChanged but nothing I've tried works so far.
This may be the key to some other issues that came up as well.

User avatar
Movalex
Fusioneer
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:36 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 22 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#35

Post by Movalex » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:05 pm

I believe the tool has to somehow recognize the input data type, so we would not need to change anything initially. Say we could have a default null input, and immediately after the node dragged — or after press Analyze button or whatever — the output and proper input are generated. Is it possible?
Another option — to add Create an Instance function, but it is a hell of a work...

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#36

Post by intelligent machine » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:56 pm

@SecondMan Some progress! The instance still doesn't hold on to the input source (same as copy and paste) but I have an idea I'm experimenting with for that part.....all this will go in the new fuse docs :idea:

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3416
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 4
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 78 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#37

Post by SecondMan » Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:09 pm

Exciting! :)

danell
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:32 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#38

Post by danell » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:41 am

intelligent machine wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:56 pm
...new fuse docs :idea:
new fuse docs? :shock:

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Answers: 2
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 29 times
Contact:

Re: wireless connections for everybody.

#39

Post by intelligent machine » Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:17 am

shhhhhhhhhh :D