Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
jedmitchell
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:11 pm

Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#1

Post by jedmitchell » Sat Mar 17, 2018 11:03 am

I've been using KAK pretty heavily over the past month and have noticed one major issue: when deleting KAK nodes Fusion will hang for 30-60s, and maybe 1 in 10 times will simply crash the app. I've seen this consistently on two different Win10 workstations.

KAK has been a really nice addition to the keyers in Fusion so it's not like I'm going to stop using it, but is there any way to make deleting them a little more stable?

User avatar
ChristopherNodal
Fusioneer
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2016 1:42 pm

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#2

Post by ChristopherNodal » Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:43 pm

That is weird. I am timing it here and even when I put dozens of KAKs in my comp the cost does not come near what you describe.

Are your comps very large? What version of Fusion?

Do keep in mind that every KAK contains well over 100 nodes.

Crashes would be more in Bug Tracker territory.

User avatar
pingking
Fusionista
Posts: 736
Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:10 am
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#3

Post by pingking » Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:32 am

I guess it's related to the bug report we have with the memory overflow

User avatar
jedmitchell
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:11 pm

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#4

Post by jedmitchell » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:00 pm

ChristopherNodal wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 3:43 pm
Are your comps very large? What version of Fusion?
Fu9.02, OpenCL disabled, otherwise pretty stable system (i9, 128GB memory). Actually, 2 stable systems -- I'm getting roughly the same issue on both my machines, though I'm not using one of them as heavily.

The comps are pretty big, probably ~1000 nodes, not counting what's inside the KAKs. In a completely empty scene it's much faster, but after ~100 nodes I start to see kind of the same problem. I could break up my really big comps into smaller networks, but it hasn't been a show-stopping bug yet, just kind of annoying.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3577
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 5
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 104 times
Contact:

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#5

Post by SecondMan » Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:11 pm

Hi @jedmitchell, do you think you could send me one of those comp files? Don't worry about the source materials, just one of the workfiles will do so I can see the slowness for myself.

User avatar
jedmitchell
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:11 pm

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#6

Post by jedmitchell » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:07 pm

@SecondMan Sure, here is one that's pretty massive:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Lf9Vv ... C5ZqDrEBp9

and another that's more reasonably sized:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=15MFHh ... JeM9fFT8Dy


Thanks for taking a look!

User avatar
DyslexicAF
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2019 6:32 am
Real name: now thats just silly!

Re: Deleting KAK nodes extremely slow / crash prone?

#7

Post by DyslexicAF » Sat Oct 12, 2019 10:35 am

Hi, not sure if this counts for double posting...
but I figured I might thrown this in here see if it peaks interest:
my issue is in the vaguest sense possibly related to "slow":

I've been trying to get kak to work on a
macbook pro 2019; 32gb, 2.4 i9, radeon pro vega20 10.14.6
davinci resolve fusion 16.1 b3
4k footage in prores422hq

I've tried to make it work through reactor as well as directly copying the here released files to the given dir
and all is recognised by DRFu and seems fine, but when I add any of the kak node options everything just grinds to a stop.
it doesent crash, it just keeps chugging away very very slowly (15 to 30 seconds for every click to update)

I also seem to have two incarnations of kak some how; one installed by reactor Kak1 and KakCore1
and the other are the versions I installed manually from this thread, Kak_Fu16 and the latest version of the switch (.71 I think)

any ideas what I might be doing wrong? or ideas as to what might cause this?