Polygon Points Value

Moderator: SecondMan

Fred Eric Eckert
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 2:57 am

Polygon Points Value

#1

Post by Fred Eric Eckert » Sun Apr 14, 2019 11:29 am

Hey everybody,

while exploring the polygon node, I wonder how to access the values of the polygon points :roll:
like with the triangle node, where you can access the values of the points in the inspector
Fred Eric

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#2

Post by intelligent machine » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:48 pm

For Polygon and Bspline masks, select a point and press "e". A small popup window will appear.

If you have multiple points selected and press "e" then you can change to the 'individual' mode and cycle through the points with the prev/next buttons.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionista
Posts: 936
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 27 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#3

Post by Midgardsormr » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:04 pm

I did not know that. Thanks!

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#4

Post by intelligent machine » Sun Apr 14, 2019 8:19 pm

Also, in Fusion 9 you can select a point and use the arrow keys to nudge by 1 pixel , shift + arrow keys to nudge x10.

In Fu16 (for now) this only works with the up and down arrow keys because they remapped the left and right arrow keys to the playhead control which is the same functionality as the bracket keys. I guess this is to match functionality in Resolve.

Fred Eric Eckert
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 2:57 am

Re: Polygon Points Value

#5

Post by Fred Eric Eckert » Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:41 am

Thanks a lot :)

User avatar
Tory
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:29 am
Been thanked: 5 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#6

Post by Tory » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:02 pm

You can get it to nudge if you hold shift+command or shift+ctl and the left and right arrows. It is far from ideal because it is not consistent with up and down but if can work... hopefully they allow that to be customized it seems like a hardcoded key map right now.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#7

Post by intelligent machine » Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:13 pm

Ah! Thanks! That works.
I tried remapping the keys also but they are locked.

And to add to this: Shift + Alt/Option for increments of 10.

This is very far from ideal as it means having both hands on the keyboard but I'll deal with it.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Been thanked: 52 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#8

Post by SirEdric » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:32 pm

Tory wrote:
Mon Apr 15, 2019 12:02 pm
You can get it to nudge if you hold shift+command or shift+ctl and the left and right arrows.
Three is the new one.
Everything that was literally one click away in Fu (View settings, etc....) is now three clicks buried down in some useless context menus.
Well done, BMD.
Just slow down the fastest workflow ever for the sake of some useless UI.

User avatar
intelligent machine
Fusionista
Posts: 359
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 10:01 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
Been thanked: 21 times
Contact:

Re: Polygon Points Value

#9

Post by intelligent machine » Mon Apr 15, 2019 3:55 pm

Yes, it is stupid.
I think I click the fit button more than any other in the views....took a bit to find where they hid the control visibility toggle as well.
All quick toggles should be in a toolbar. I want to toggle off, look, then toggle back on. This was two clicks and now it’s at least 4 clicks and time scanning menu items.