Reactor 3 Release Announcement

Moderator: SecondMan

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#31

Post by AndrewHazelden » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:34 pm

hedac wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:24 am
I was trying to find it in the Fusion menu... instead of Workspace (I wonder why it is in the Workspace menu... it doesn't seem intuitive)
FWIW Resolve 16 moved the "Fusion > Script > " menu over to "Workspace > Scripts > " since the built-in Lua and Python scripting API is being expanded beyond just the Fusion page to also cover the other pages like the Media Pool and Edit environments.

This allows the same script menu items to be accessed when you are outside the Fusion page.
Last edited by AndrewHazelden on Sun Sep 22, 2019 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Resolve 16 for Linux Compatibility Problems for Reactor

#32

Post by AndrewHazelden » Sun Sep 22, 2019 1:40 pm

I recently discovered that Resolve 16 for Linux is unable to act as a host platform for Reactor due to an obscure Lua scripting API bug. There is a newly added WSL Bug Tracker issue for this problem.

The scripting API bug affects the Lua FFI support for the built-in curl library and it (the bug) only exists on Linux, and only in Resolve. Fusion Studio on Linux works perfectly fine with Reactor. This curl library is how Reactor is able to download content from the Reactor GitLab repository and curl helps build the list of atom packages that are available to download. :bmd:

If you've tried to install Reactor in Resolve on Linux but had it fail, there is an interim workaround for this issue. You can change the Resolve on Linux PathMap setting so it can access Fusion Studio v16's Reactor folder contents.

To do this you need to open Resolve on Linux. Change to the Fusion page. Select the "Fusion > Fusion Settings... menu item.

Resolve Fusion Settings Menu item.png

Then click on the Fusion > PathMap section on the left side of the "Fusion Settings" window. Change the PathMap "User" settings to:

From: Reactor:
To: /var/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/Reactor/

Then click the "Save" button.

Reactor for Resolve PathMap Settings.png

Finally, restart the Resolve application once for the updated PathMap settings to take effect.

With this workaround in place, you still can't use the Reactor GUI inside of Resolve 16.1 but content-wise anything (macros, fuses, scripts, plugins, templates) you have loaded in Fusion Studio on Linux via Reactor will show up automatically in Resolve. Also, the Reactor content will appear in the Resolve Workspace > Scripts > menu set, too.

Reactor Menus in Resolve on Linux.png

Note: If you've never run the Reactor installer inside of Resolve on Linux before, you will need to add these additional PathMap entries by hand too:


From: Scripts:
To: UserPaths:Scripts;Reactor:System/Scripts

From: UserPaths:
To: UserData:;AllData:;Fusion:;Reactor:Deploy

User avatar
Rhys Alu
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#33

Post by Rhys Alu » Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:03 pm

Tried to install on Linux with the latest beta release of DaVinci Resolve 16. Installation seems stuck on "Step 1"? Tried the above fix with no luck.

Image

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#34

Post by AndrewHazelden » Wed Sep 25, 2019 5:24 am

Rhys Alu wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 11:03 pm
Tried to install on Linux with the latest beta release of DaVinci Resolve 16. Installation seems stuck on "Step 1"? Tried the above fix with no luck.

Image
If you open the Workspace > Console menu you would see an error after running the script of:

Code: Select all

[string "lj2curl/curl_ffi"]:1440: libcurl.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
That is what the post mentioned along with this WSL bug tracker note.

The benefit of running the Reactor-Installer script once and then having it stall is that the script pre-added three initial Reactor PathMap entries for you in the Resolve Fusion page Fusion > Fusion Settings Menu. This makes it a bit easier for new to Resolve Fusion page users as they only have to modify the existing entries in the PathMap window to point at the Fusion Standalone version of Reactor vs creating the PathMap entries from scratch for the first time. :)


The workaround, until this issue is fixed by another Resolve for Linux update, is to use a copy of Fusion Standalone installed on the same Linux system to act as the GUI for downloading the Reactor content. The edit to the PathMap system in the Resolve Fusion page preferences is what tells Resolve to load the external content like Macros, Scripts, Templates, etc... from the Fusion Standalone Reactor:/ folder.

If you are running Resolve Studio, your dongle gives you access to a version of Fusion Studio v16 for free.

If you are running Resolve (Free), you would have to download and install the older Fusion 9 (Free) program from Late 2017 era that is available from the BMD Support page to be able to use Fusion 9 (Free) as the host GUI for running Reactor inside of. The slight downside is some Reactor content will not be installable but 90% of the atom packages are available. Don't install the Krokodove plugin or VLAM plugin or Cineform plugin if you are going to share the Fusion 9 based Reactor downloads with Resolve 16.

User avatar
Rhys Alu
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 7:04 pm

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#35

Post by Rhys Alu » Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:39 am

Thanks for the response.

Unfortunately I bought Studio without the dongle, so will have to wait it out. No worries though

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#36

Post by AndrewHazelden » Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:52 am

Rhys Alu wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 6:39 am
Thanks for the response.

Unfortunately I bought Studio without the dongle, so will have to wait it out. No worries though
Sure. If that's what you want to do. :)

Fusion Standalone was simply being used to side-load the content onto your system so Resolve could then access those same assets. You could still use Resolve Studio (Activation Card) edition to run the Reactor content downloaded by Fusion Standalone v9 (Free).

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Reactor (PI) v3.14 Edition Installer

#37

Post by AndrewHazelden » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:03 am

Hi. I'm happy to mention that a Reactor "PI" Edition v3.14 mini-update is out now that fixes some issues when Reactor is used with the current beta versions of Fusion Studio Standalone/Resolve v16.1.


Download

You need to re-run the Reactor Installer to get the latest "Reactor" menu updates and new improvements.

You can download the latest Reactor-Installer.lua script from the first post on this Reactor 3 Release Announcement thread. :)


Installer Screenshots

Reactor Pi Edition Installer.png
Reactor Pi Edition Installer.png (29.51 KiB) Viewed 486 times

A "Short" Change List

  • Reactor PI edition fixes an issue that would occur with launching the Reactor "Tools" Menu items if the Fusion v16.1 or Resolve v16.1 program folder was installed to another hard disk other then the primary boot volume. Those issues have for a lack of a better term been "Resolved" so you can now run any of the tool scripts you want. :)
  • Users who install the Nuke2Fusion package no longer will suffer hotkeys conflicts from other Reactor .fu files that are installed automatically as part of atom dependency tags based deployments
  • Improved Reactor installer error logging to help with troubleshooting installation issues
  • General stability and performance improvements

Known Issues in Resolve v16.1 Betas

1. It's important to mention that Resolve and Fusion v16.1 have changed the way things are done (WSL bug report here) so it is not possible to run a .lua script, such as the Reactor installer by dragging it to the Nodes view tab and have it launch. You have to open the Console window and drag the script there to run it, or copy/paste the text of the installer into the Console window to run it.


2. There is a known bug that only effects Resolve v16.1 on Linux where it does not support the Lua scripting API functions that are used by Reactor. All other OS platforms support Reactor for Resolve based installs.


3. The Lua based Reactor installer script needs to have a .lua file extension on the end to be run inside of Resolve and Fusion. If you are using a web-browser that changed the file extension to a .txt file when the installer script was downloaded, please rename the file and then run the installer.


Good Luck! :cheer:

User avatar
idealsceneprod
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Real name: Val
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#38

Post by idealsceneprod » Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:17 am

Howdy from Texas, y'all.

I'm on the latest version of Resolve 16.1.1 on Windows 10 64-bit, and I can't get Reactor to install. I'm on a Surface Book 2 with 16GB RAM and a 512GB SSD.

Here's the error I get in the console:

Reactor - Installer.lua:962: bad argument #1 to 'floor' (number expected, got nil)
Reactor error.jpg
I tried dragging the file into the nodes area, as well as into the Console itself. Both times the same error.

Thanks a lot,
Val

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#39

Post by AndrewHazelden » Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:38 am

idealsceneprod wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:17 am
Reactor - Installer.lua:962: bad argument #1 to 'floor' (number expected, got nil)
Hi @idealsceneprod.

Thanks for your bug report. :)

I haven't downloaded Resolve 16.1.1 yet. I will test it out today and take a look at the issue with the Reactor install process.

On the surface, line 962 of the source code is trying to detect the active Fusion version. It tries to check a Fusion v7-16 version range by accessing a variable that is based upon a "eyeon._VERSION" value in Lua. Possibly that value is now undefined in the latest version of Resolve? I'll have to take a look and find out.

Added in 12 minutes 42 seconds:
Yeah. The issue is BMD broke the pattern used for Fusion Script API version numbering in the latest v16.1.1 release so the version number is no longer able to be converted to a floating-point or integer-based number with the stock Lua scripting tonumber() function in Resolve v16.1.1.

Gotta love unit-test driven development vs actually trying a new software release out on real-world workflows before shipping it. :(

In summary, a different approach will need to be used in Reactor's installer script to detect if it's running inside of Fusion v9.0.2 - v16.1.1 vs if the script is being launched in an unsupported Fusion v7.7 - 9.0.1 range of the software that can't act as a Reactor host.

A fix for this issue should be ready in a few hours. :)

For anyone who loves technical nitty-gritty details here is a breakdown of the issue:

Examples of the Fusion/Resolve Versioning Issue

Fusion 8.2.1

Code: Select all

==eyeon._VERSION
8.21

Fusion 9.0.1

Code: Select all

==eyeon._VERSION
9.01

Fusion 9.0.2

Code: Select all

==eyeon._VERSION
9.02
Resolve 15

Code: Select all

==eyeon._VERSION
15.0

And now we have double periods in the number value in the newest release which causes compatibility issues:

Resolve 16.1.1

Code: Select all

==eyeon._VERSION
16.1.1
Edit:
Keen-eyed readers who are good at detecting patterns in how things are supposed anticipated to work would likely notice that last version output from Resolve v16.1.1 should have reported "16.11" as the version number returned by "eyeon._VERSION". We didn't get that as a result so it breaks the expected conventions that go back earlier then Fusion v7 and as a result we get the error you now see today. ;)
Last edited by AndrewHazelden on Thu Oct 31, 2019 11:34 am, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
Movalex
Sir Requestalot
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:36 am
Answers: 2
Been thanked: 39 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#40

Post by Movalex » Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:51 am

AndrewHazelden wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:38 am
Possibly that value is now undefined in the latest version of Resolve
This is exactly the case, @AndrewHazelden!
@idealsceneprod Here's the a fast fix only for Resolve v16.1.1, until proper solution is found. So try this installer.

Reactor-Installer.lua
(48.53 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#41

Post by AndrewHazelden » Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:59 am

Movalex wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:51 am
Here's the a fast fix only for Resolve v16.1.1, until proper solution is found. So try this installer
Thanks Movalex! You're fast. :)

At this point I'm starting to think having any error handling code for Fusion v7.x - v9.0.1 being detected in the Reactor Installer is a hindrance since Resolve/Fusion v16+ is moving away from how things used to be done in the past with reckless abandon and breakneck speed...

With new code like the chunk below being needed to see what the active version is, it doesn't seem sensible to fight BMD's changes and try to provide graceful error handling with an easy download link in an AskUser dialog anymore when old-school users try to install Rector in versions of Fusion that lack Lua + cURL ffi + UI Manager. :ugeek:

Code: Select all

local ver = app:GetVersion()

g_AppVersion = ver[1] + ver[2]/10 + ver[3]/100
g_AppName = ver.App or (ver[1] < 15 and "Fusion" or "Resolve")
vs

Code: Select all

-- Note: The Reactor Installer wants fuVersion to be a number like "9.02" or higher
local fuVersion = tonumber(eyeon._VERSION)

Also, it's kinda obvious these days with Resolve v15-16 on Linux not supporting Reactor, and this new issue that BMD doesn't consider Reactor compatibility breakage something they'd test against in their internal beta testing and QA stage which is a shame. Not unexpected though given priorities.

User avatar
Oro Yama
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 11:08 am

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#42

Post by Oro Yama » Thu Oct 31, 2019 4:48 pm

Hi! Installed release 3 but unable to run Reactor. I am getting the following message:
I:\ Reactor-installer.lua:451: cannot open C:\users\user\appdata\local\temp\reactor\autorunreactor.lua. No such file or directory

I am on DR Studio 16 updated the other day.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1491
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 6
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 82 times
Contact:

Reactor v3.141 Release Announcement

#43

Post by AndrewHazelden » Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:44 pm

Oro Yama wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 4:48 pm
I am on DR Studio 16 updated the other day.
Hi Oro.

DR Studio v16.1.1, which was released the other day, had some unexpected internal changes that required Reactor to be re-written so it would function as intended. The revised Reactor v3.14 files are posted on the Reactor GitLab repository site as of 25 minutes ago, and listed below is a copy of the Reactor v3.141 installer script that should hopefully solve your issues. :)

When @SecondMan has a moment to try this out for himself, possibly this installer script can get synced to the first post on this thread.

Reactor Installer Update for Resolve v16.1.1 and Fusion v16.1.1


Check in the first post on this thread for the updated installer.


This revised Reactor Installer script can be downloaded and then dragged into the Resolve "Console" or Fusion Standalone "Console" view to run. If the file extension isn't .lua when this script is downloaded, then rename the .txt file extension to .lua before running this script in Fusion/Resolve.

Change Summary

With the assistance of WSL's @Movalex quick call to action this morning, a finalized Reactor installer update has been prepared that should work correctly across Fusion v9.0.2-v16.1.1 and Resolve v15-16.1.1 on Windows/macOS, and in Fusion v9.0.2-v16.1.1 on Linux (With no Resolve v15-16.0 support on Linux due to BMD FuScript API reasons).

  • Removed all legacy Reactor Installer host version checking code for Fusion Standalone prior to v9.0.2 so Fusion v16.1.1 and Resolve v16.1.1 will work correctly via the new Fusion "eyeon._VERSION" coding system "standard" added on 2019-10-31.
  • Removed the "Install and Restart" install mode so Fusion Standalone and Resolve will both rely on the "Script:/Comp/" Reactor menus as the primary way to load Reactor. This means the Reactor Installer buttons are labelled "Install and Launch" for both Fusion/Resolve to reflect this change.
  • The "Reactor.fu" menu is a bonus for Fusion users who still have root-level menu customization but the "Reactor-Installer.lua" script will not auto-force Fusion to restart after the Reactor install process is done. This means the Reactor window is opened for the first time faster and no double Fusion bouncing icon will be seen in Fusion 9 on macOS in the dock.
Last edited by AndrewHazelden on Thu Oct 31, 2019 9:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
SecondMan
Site Admin
Posts: 3694
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:31 pm
Answers: 7
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Been thanked: 130 times
Contact:

Re: Reactor v3.141 Release Announcement

#44

Post by SecondMan » Thu Oct 31, 2019 9:19 pm

Thanks Andrew!
AndrewHazelden wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:44 pm
When @SecondMan has a moment to try this out for himself, possibly this installer script can get synced to the first post on this thread.
It's done.

User avatar
idealsceneprod
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 27, 2015 9:23 am
Location: Austin, Texas
Real name: Val
Contact:

Re: Reactor 3 Release Announcement

#45

Post by idealsceneprod » Fri Nov 01, 2019 8:17 am

Movalex wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:51 am
AndrewHazelden wrote:
Thu Oct 31, 2019 8:38 am
Possibly that value is now undefined in the latest version of Resolve
This is exactly the case, @AndrewHazelden!
@idealsceneprod Here's the a fast fix only for Resolve v16.1.1, until proper solution is found. So try this installer.


Reactor-Installer.lua
Worked like a charm! Thanks a lot :)