3d masking

Moderator: SecondMan

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

3d masking

#1

Post by quiq007 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:33 am

Hi guys, i try to replicate an AE tutorial from video copilote (here is the link : in fusion.

So far so good, but i have one main issue : Masking in 3d. At 15 min 50 sec, he use a 3d shape and mask it to create a mate.

I try differend idea in fusion, but I cannot use the 3d space from fusion to use the ply mask. There are always differences and innacuratie here.

Any idea ?

Thanks a lot

Cheers

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: 3d masking

#2

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Sun Jun 09, 2019 12:20 pm

quiq007 wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:33 am
I try differend idea in fusion, but I cannot use the 3d space from fusion to use the ply mask. There are always differences and innacuratie here.
Well, if you have a correct 3D track you most definitely could use the 3D space. Without seeing your comp and results, it's very difficult to tell *why* there are differences and inaccuracies.
What is your current skill level in Fusion? This will help to figure out how to help you best.

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#3

Post by quiq007 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:16 am

Thanks for the answer. Im not a pro, but I think I m not bad at all in fusion (can do a lot of project on my own).

The probleme is not the 3d track but the fact that i cannot modify (or create) the ply mask directly in 3d space, accuratly.

That's mean for this kind of job, i have to make it on a 2d space and "guess" where it will be in 3d to cover what i want.

If you try to make ply mask directly in 3d , where you "clic" is not where the point is...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 2
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: 3d masking

#4

Post by SirEdric » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:36 pm

quiq007 wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:16 am

If you try to make ply mask directly in 3d , where you "clic" is not where the point is...

That's true.
And it's true because the polyline does not actually live in 3D Space. It's a 2D tool.
In your screenshot you're applying the mask to the image input of a shape3D, basicallly masking out parts of that shape (most likely a simple plane).
So the 3D-Position of your mask depends on the position of that shape in 3DSpace, and the position of your camera.

Disconnect the mask from the shape3D to see what I mean...:-)


hendrik
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 3:30 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 3d masking

#5

Post by hendrik » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:01 am

Just for general information, it is possible in AE and some other softwares too. How it is exactly accomplished I don't know but my guess is that the transform matrix is passed down the flow and points are reprojected through current matrix to screen space to show where they are relative to current view. Adding new points applies the inverse of this and thus adds points to proper location in 2D space.


User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 2
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: 3d masking

#6

Post by SirEdric » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:05 am

As a workaround one could project the footage onto the Shape3D,
View it using an OpenGL UV Renderer,
Draw the mask on the rendered output,
and then use that mask to mask off stuff on the actual ImagePlane for the composite.

Added in 26 minutes 24 seconds:
A rough setup could look like this (you need the footage provided with the tutorial video)

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by SirEdric on Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 2
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: 3d masking

#7

Post by SirEdric » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:39 am

To get absolute precise control over where your shape lives,
you could hook up the four points in question from your PointCloud to a BG and use that to nail the shape in place.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 2
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: 3d masking

#8

Post by SirEdric » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:51 am

And here's some rough approach for adding the blown out front of the building.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#9

Post by quiq007 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:28 pm

SirEdric wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:31 am
As a workaround one could project the footage onto the Shape3D,
View it using an OpenGL UV Renderer,
Draw the mask on the rendered output,
and then use that mask to mask off stuff on the actual ImagePlane for the composite.

Added in 26 minutes 24 seconds:
A rough setup could look like this (you need the footage provided with the tutorial video)
Thanks I ll check it.

By the way, It look like a lot to do for something that's native in after effect... I realy love fusion but i m a litle disapointed that we have to "tricks" it :(

Added in 1 minute 24 seconds:
hendrik wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:01 am
Just for general information, it is possible in AE and some other softwares too. How it is exactly accomplished I don't know but my guess is that the transform matrix is passed down the flow and points are reprojected through current matrix to screen space to show where they are relative to current view. Adding new points applies the inverse of this and thus adds points to proper location in 2D space.
I hope there is some function like that to fusion... Maybe we miss it ...

User avatar
ShadowMaker SdR
Fusionista
Posts: 619
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:17 am
Answers: 3
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: 3d masking

#10

Post by ShadowMaker SdR » Wed Jun 12, 2019 12:28 am

@SirEdric I've never understood what the OpenGL UV Render is actually for. This sort of sheds a light on it. Thanks.

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#11

Post by quiq007 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 5:14 am

SirEdric wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:31 am
As a workaround one could project the footage onto the Shape3D,
View it using an OpenGL UV Renderer,
Draw the mask on the rendered output,
and then use that mask to mask off stuff on the actual ImagePlane for the composite.

Added in 26 minutes 24 seconds:
A rough setup could look like this (you need the footage provided with the tutorial video)
So i try it, and i don't find it really "flow happy" you always have to go back and forth to make your ply.

We should find a way to directly use ply in 3d space like after effect. It should be possible... That's so obviously needed :(

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#12

Post by quiq007 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 1:40 am

Any idea from others ?

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#13

Post by quiq007 » Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:30 am

ok so i gues it's one feature that we don't have ...

User avatar
SirEdric
Fusionator
Posts: 1822
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 10:04 am
Answers: 2
Real name: Eric Westphal
Been thanked: 97 times
Contact:

Re: 3d masking

#14

Post by SirEdric » Wed Jun 19, 2019 12:28 pm

quiq007 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:30 am
ok so i gues it's one feature that we don't have ...
So, why not make it an official feature request?
Make your voice heard at BMD...

quiq007
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 10:13 am

Re: 3d masking

#15

Post by quiq007 » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:19 am

SirEdric wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 12:28 pm
quiq007 wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 8:30 am
ok so i gues it's one feature that we don't have ...
So, why not make it an official feature request?
Make your voice heard at BMD...
How can i don that ?