Ellipse custom Control HELP!

Millolab
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#1

Post by Millolab » Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:08 am

guys, I'm trying to figure out how to set the EllipseControl up in the custom controls.
it seems I can't have it to work properly..
been searching here but, no luck...
https://www.steakunderwater.com/VFXPedi ... mage_Input

Any hint?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 1
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#2

Post by Midgardsormr » Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:48 am

The Ellipse control has several pieces that have to be linked together for it to work, similar to a ColorControl. You need a Center, an Angle, and separate controls for Width and Height with the same PC_ControlGroup value. If you're using the Edit Controls dialogue, set the Center up first, followed by the Angle, because you'll need those to exist in order to connect the Ellipse controls to them. Here's an example:

Code: Select all

{
	Tools = ordered() {
		Background1 = Background {
			CtrlWZoom = false,
			Inputs = {
				Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
				Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
				["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
				ellipseAngle = Input { Value = -28.3011061583974, },
				ellipseWidth = Input { Value = 0.5625, },
				ellipseHeight = Input { Value = 0.4114618714454, },
				Center = Input { Value = { 0.5171875, 0.455555555555556 }, },
			},
			ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 251, 291 } },
			UserControls = ordered() {
				Center = {
					LINKS_Name = "Center",
					LINKID_DataType = "Point",
					INPID_InputControl = "OffsetControl",
					INPID_PreviewControl = "CrosshairControl",
					CHC_Style = "NormalCross",
					INP_Passive = true,
				},
				ellipseAngle = {
					LINKS_Name = "ellipseAngle",
					LINKID_DataType = "Number",
					INPID_InputControl = "ScrewControl",
					INPID_PreviewControl = "AngleControl",
					INP_Integer = false,
					ACID_Center = "Center",
				},
				ellipseWidth = {
					LINKS_Name = "ellipseWidth",
					LINKID_DataType = "Number",
					INPID_InputControl = "SliderControl",
					INPID_PreviewControl = "EllipseControl",
					INP_Integer = false,
					PC_ControlGroup = 1,
					PC_ControlID = 0,
					ECID_Center = "Center",
					ECID_Angle = "ellipseAngle",
				},
				ellipseHeight = {
					LINKS_Name = "ellipseHeight",
					LINKID_DataType = "Number",
					INPID_InputControl = "SliderControl",
					INPID_PreviewControl = "EllipseControl",
					INP_Integer = false,
					PC_ControlGroup = 1,
					PC_ControlID = 1,
					ECID_Center = "Center",
					ECID_Angle = "ellipseAngle",
				}
			}
		}
	},
	ActiveTool = "Background1"
}
Rectangle controls work the same way, of course.

Millolab
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#3

Post by Millolab » Mon Jul 01, 2019 9:08 am

Midgardsormr wrote:
Mon Jul 01, 2019 8:48 am
The Ellipse control has several pieces that have to be linked together for it to work, similar to a ColorControl. You need a Center, an Angle, and separate controls for Width and Height with the same PC_ControlGroup value. If you're using the Edit Controls dialogue, set the Center up first, followed by the Angle, because you'll need those to exist in order to connect the Ellipse controls to them. Here's an example:

Rectangle controls work the same way, of course.
Thanks Bryan. I was able to figure it out meanwhile somehow.
here it works even with no angle control

E.

Millolab
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#4

Post by Millolab » Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:25 am

now the question is... what if I want to use the ellipse control on a macro?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 1
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 53 times
Contact:

Re: Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#5

Post by Midgardsormr » Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:44 am

Well, it depends on how you're building the macro. You can add the User Controls on a node internal to the macro, then use the Create Macro dialogue to instance them onto the tool, or you can go the power-user route of grouping the nodes, adding the User Controls to the group, then expression-linking interior controls to the Group's.

Have you gone through the Macro Building Essentials thread? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1581&p=19631

Millolab
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:26 am
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Ellipse custom Control HELP!

#6

Post by Millolab » Mon Jul 01, 2019 12:04 pm

Midgardsormr wrote:
Mon Jul 01, 2019 11:44 am
Well, it depends on how you're building the macro. You can add the User Controls on a node internal to the macro, then use the Create Macro dialogue to instance them onto the tool, or you can go the power-user route of grouping the nodes, adding the User Controls to the group, then expression-linking interior controls to the Group's.

Have you gone through the Macro Building Essentials thread? viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1581&p=19631
yes, I did!
I did exactly what you suggest but it breaks completely.
I think sharing the comp is the only way.
basically it's juts a spot remover tool. The same we have in the paint node, but with a frequency separation twist. Nice thing to have imho.
the controls are located in the "controls" node.
I wanted to make a macro out of this but for some reason it doesn't work out.

here both the comp and the macro I made (just put together in fusion).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.