Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

User avatar
MelbFilm
Fusioneer
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:38 pm
Been thanked: 3 times

Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#1

Post by MelbFilm » Mon Nov 18, 2019 5:30 pm

So I wrote this comp script which can make your Fu 16 desktop look like this:
desktop.jpg
I did this because this is how I work and I cannot use the existing interface on Dual monitors so its very much tailored to my preferences. Feel free to hack the code apart to get it to work the way you need, best place to start is to examine the output of the 's' variable which contains the layout information.

Be warned, there are issues with this, it messes the layout up so you may need to copy your flow into a new project if you want to change back to the original layout.

Also every time you close/open a window you will need to rerun the script. I have attached it to a hot key so I can refresh the interface which makes it a bit more usable.

Note:

* To hide/show the Effects/Node/Inspector Window go to the View menu and select your options, then run the script again to refresh the interface.
* The Spline and Keyframes are now in the Nodes tab.
* The setup is not saved entirely with the file so you will need to run the script on re-opening.

This is a hack and there are issues with it but for my workflow it outweighs the terrible default layout.

Script is here (install in the Comp script dir):
Code: [Select all] [Expand/Collapse] [Download] (ISDK_SetLayout.lua)
  1. --
  2. --
  3. --  Dual Monitor Setup Hackaroo for Fusion 16
  4. --
  5. --  Written by Kel Sheeran of ISDK Films
  6. --
  7. --  Copyright 2019
  8. --
  9. --  v1.0    19 Nov 2019     Prototype created
  10. --
  11.  
  12.  
  13. s = comp.CurrentFrame:GetViewLayout()
  14.  
  15. --print('\n\nBEFORE\n')
  16. --dump(s)
  17.  
  18.  
  19. _Viewers =  {{ __flags = 256, RatioX = 0.5, RatioY = 1, ID = 'Viewer1' }, { ID = 'Viewer2',  __flags = 256, RatioX = 0.5 }, RatioX = 1, RatioY = 0.72, Columns = 2 }
  20. _Time = {__flags = 256, FixedY =83, Flat = true, ID = 'Time'}
  21. _Left =  { _Viewers , _Time, RatioX = 1, RatioY = 1, Rows = 2 }
  22.  
  23. _Effects = { __flags = 256, PixelX = 320, RatioY = 1, ID = 'Effects' }
  24. _Nodes = { __flags = 256, RatioY = 1, ID = 'Nodes' }
  25. _Inspector = { __flags = 256, PixelX = 440, RatioY = 1, ID = 'Inspector' }
  26. _Right =  { _Effects, _Nodes, _Inspector, RatioX = 1, RatioY = 1, Columns = 3 }
  27.  
  28. nl = { _Left , _Right, Columns = 2, RatioX = 1, RatioY = 1 }
  29.  
  30. s.ViewInfo.LayoutStrip.Show = false
  31. s.ViewInfo.ActionStrip.Show = false
  32. s.ViewInfo.Spline.Show = false
  33. s.ViewInfo.Keyframes.Show = false
  34.  
  35. -- Add Tabs to Nodes View
  36. s.Views.Nodes.ViewList.TimelineView='TimelineView'
  37. s.Views.Nodes.ViewList.SplineView='SplineView'
  38.  
  39. s.Layout = nl
  40.  
  41. --print('\n\nAFTER\n')
  42. --dump(nl)
  43.  
  44. comp.CurrentFrame:SetViewLayout(s)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by MelbFilm on Thu Nov 21, 2019 3:23 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
JUNE
Fusionista
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#2

Post by JUNE » Mon Nov 18, 2019 6:37 pm

Image

ViewList! What's wrong?

You can add a line of code.

Code: Select all

s.ViewInfo.ActionStrip.Show = false

User avatar
MelbFilm
Fusioneer
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:38 pm
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#3

Post by MelbFilm » Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:07 pm

Andrew is on the money. I don't use that toolbar so I haven't configured for it. Will update the code to fix this.

Should be fixed.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#4

Post by AndrewHazelden » Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:17 pm

Hi. @MelbFilm's thread here motivated me to finally clean up a little "Action Listener" v2 inspired UI customization topic I've been puttering away at in a MyWSL post for a while.

Sometimes you might want to reveal a specific hidden window context in your GUI such as showing the Console window or hiding the ActionStrip (Toolbar).

Here are some notes on how to do a lot of that stuff via comp:DoAction(). It might be helpful if you only need to toggle the visibility of a few elements (vs the far more ambitious Dual Monitor UI hack being done above).

Adjusting Fusion/Resolve Views Layouts With Actions

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... 185#p27185

User avatar
JUNE
Fusionista
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#5

Post by JUNE » Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:18 pm

Image

I turned on the dual screen display by default. Why didn't it work?
How is the node-list setup?

User avatar
MelbFilm
Fusioneer
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:38 pm
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#6

Post by MelbFilm » Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:11 am

AndrewHazelden wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 7:17 pm
Hi. @MelbFilm's thread here motivated me to finally clean up a little "Action Listener" v2 inspired UI customization topic I've been puttering away at in a MyWSL post for a while.

Sometimes you might want to reveal a specific hidden window context in your GUI such as showing the Console window or hiding the ActionStrip (Toolbar).

Here are some notes on how to do a lot of that stuff via comp:DoAction(). It might be helpful if you only need to toggle the visibility of a few elements (vs the far more ambitious Dual Monitor UI hack being done above).

Adjusting Fusion/Resolve Views Layouts With Actions

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... 185#p27185
Thanks Andrew, will have a lookie. So much of this interface is undocumented, its like the wild west in here!

Added in 11 minutes 25 seconds:
JUNE wrote:
Mon Nov 18, 2019 8:18 pm
Image

I turned on the dual screen display by default. Why didn't it work?
How is the node-list setup?
Hi June,

What version of Fusion and which platform are you running on? I'm Windows 16.1.1 build 5.

The Dual Screen will not display by default, there is a lot of strange behaviour inside Fusion 16 (vs 9) with this new layout stuff. I'd recommend set up with the Windows you want showing and run the script after loading. It feels like some of the config is hard coded and some parameters just seem to populated/updated but ignored when changed. I don't think it was meant to be used this way, it is very much a hack.

The Node list has the Spline and TimeLine Added here:

s.Views.Nodes.ViewList.TimelineView='TimelineView'
s.Views.Nodes.ViewList.SplineView='SplineView'

Un comment the Dump statements if you want to look at the data structure used before and after.

Kel

User avatar
JUNE
Fusionista
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 5:45 am
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#7

Post by JUNE » Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:24 am

Image

I'm not sure. Why can't I open the second screen?

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#8

Post by AndrewHazelden » Tue Nov 19, 2019 2:24 am

JUNE wrote:I'm not sure. Why can't I open the second screen?
Hi June.

This isn't using video monitoring in the Fusion preferences. So enabling that option would not be required...

I haven't run @MelbFilm's script yet but from looking at his UI screenshot alone, it looks like he has two matched monitors of the same resolution arranged side by side. Then he is stretching one (single) giant Fusion UI window across both monitors to allow for the view customization.

I'll have to try this out today once I get a moment to tinker with my monitor layout. I've got a dual monitor setup but they are vertically stacked. :)

Added in 14 minutes 37 seconds:
Well. I tried the script and it worked great. The script really is making a giant custom laid out single view "canvas" window that can span as many horizontal displays as you want. Super nice.👍

Added in 3 minutes 3 seconds:
BTW MelbFilm you can actually specify the final filename you want the user to have for a codebox attachment download with the "file=" tag like this:

Code: Select all

[Codebox=lua file=Dual Monitor Setup Hackaroo.lua]
-- Your code here
[/Codebox]
And that codebox tag then generates a download link that will save out a "Dual Monitor Setup Hackaroo.lua" when the user clicks on it:
Code: [Select all] [Expand/Collapse] [Download] (Dual Monitor Setup Hackaroo.lua)
  1. -- Your code here
Added in 3 minutes 27 seconds:
Also, MelbFilm I sent you a WSL "PM" yesterday about compiling code. I don't think you've received it yet. :)

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#9

Post by AndrewHazelden » Tue Nov 19, 2019 4:28 am

@MelbFilm I looked at your custom window layout's screenshot again to see what's in your view layout for your UI customization, and I think I'm seeing the old classic "Paint" program next to Notepad++ in your taskbar.

Kel taskbar.jpg

Are you using the Paint program as a place to paste your PRINTSCREEN keyboard hotkey based screenshots to save the images to disk? If so, you might like to try the "Snipping Tool" tool in Windows. Few people have spotted the Snipping app but it's on all PCs and is a really good tool for taking documentation screenshots with cropped regions, window rectangle region-specific snapshotting, and a delay timer.

Snipping Tool Mode.png

You can find the snipping tool by typing in "Snipping" in the Start menu search area:

Snipping Tool.png
Cheers,
Andrew
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
thibaud
Fusioneer
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:23 am
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#10

Post by thibaud » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:23 am

I'm sorry but I can't let a windows snipping tool recommendation go by like that...
Here's something actualy deserving one.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#11

Post by AndrewHazelden » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:26 am

Lol. Snipping is a step up from Paint usage... :)

But ShareX looks even more amazing @thibaud! Thanks for letting me know about it. It's got all the bells and whistles.

User avatar
thibaud
Fusioneer
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:23 am
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#12

Post by thibaud » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:39 am

You're welcome :) and while I'm at it, I believe I saw you needing lua linting in another post.
May I suggest you try vscode instead of n++.
vscode extensions are available for about anything you may think of.

User avatar
AndrewHazelden
Fusionator
Posts: 1589
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:20 pm
Answers: 8
Location: West Dover, Nova Scotia, Canada
Been thanked: 1 time
Contact:

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#13

Post by AndrewHazelden » Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:50 am

thibaud wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:39 am
May I suggest you try vscode instead of n++.
vscode extensions are available for about anything you may think of.

Yup. That is a real need for me. I guess I will have to try to set aside my past Visual Studio hangups and take the time to fully explore what vscode + its extensions can do with an open mind.

I've just installed the macOS version of vscode. Thanks again thibaud!

User avatar
MelbFilm
Fusioneer
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 2:38 pm
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#14

Post by MelbFilm » Fri Nov 22, 2019 2:29 pm

Had a look at VSCode, pretty cool stuff! Will add the Snip tool to my shortcuts for sure. Thanks.

User avatar
awkward_eagle
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:33 am

Re: Dual Monitor Setup for FU 16 - Hack/Beta

#15

Post by awkward_eagle » Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:36 am

Thank you for this script. I use it on all of my production systems.

Just ran it on a new install on a new Mac Pro and am not getting the Keyframes and Splines tabs in the Node panel. It works on my other Mac and Windows systems, all running v16.1.1.

Any help would be appreciated.