In light of the Coronavirus crisis, please help make sure nothing stands in the way of social distancing in the VFX industry.

This petition asks the MPAA to act accordingly:


Sign the petition on Change.org

Be safe, everyone.

Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

User avatar
Aleksander
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:08 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#16

Post by Aleksander » Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:58 am

Midgardsormr wrote:
Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:10 pm
Has anyone made any further progress here? The test fuse doesn't work for me. I get "RT kernel TestKernel failed to build:"

And come to think of it, where did the example code come from, anyway? I haven't been able to find any code samples other than Rays so far. SDK?
No, no, this was not an example I found, it is one I have written for this topic. It worked for me, I think, let me try again. But perhaps this is an os thing... one thing I have noticed with DCTL, is that something that works on osx (where I am) might not work on windows or linux. I suppose it is metal vs opencl vs cuda, really.

Do you get any information about what the error was?

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#17

Post by Shem Namo » Thu Feb 27, 2020 6:47 am

The test fuse you posted works fine on Windows 10 in Resolve 16.

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 11
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#18

Post by Midgardsormr » Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:31 am

Aleksander wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:58 am

No, no, this was not an example I found, it is one I have written for this topic. It worked for me, I think, let me try again. But perhaps this is an os thing... one thing I have noticed with DCTL, is that something that works on osx (where I am) might not work on windows or linux. I suppose it is metal vs opencl vs cuda, really.

Do you get any information about what the error was?
From your comments, it's clear you were looking at something as you wrote it, and it wasn't Rays.

Anyway, I'm in Fusion 16 on Windows 10, with current CUDA drivers. Not much information about what's wrong, unfortunately:

RT kernel TestKernel failed to build:
DCTLTest1 failed at time 0


If it works in Resolve on Windows but not Fusion, then I suspect there must be a bug in Fusion. I'll make a report about it.

User avatar
Aleksander
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:08 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#19

Post by Aleksander » Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:33 am

Yes, there are several examples to piece things together. Rays is probably the most complex. There's also LUTCubeCreator.fuse and LUTCubeApply.fuse that come with Fusion.

Also I was sent a "GPU Sample.fuse". I'll attach it here.
GPU sample.fuse
I'm not sure about the error, I will try it on windows myself when I get the chance.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
PeterLoveday
Fusioneer
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:09 pm
Answers: 6
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#20

Post by PeterLoveday » Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:46 am

Just a random observation without testing, but... Are you sure you want 'const' on 'col'? Given it's being modified...

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 11
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#21

Post by Midgardsormr » Fri Feb 28, 2020 7:04 am

Aleksander wrote:
Fri Feb 28, 2020 3:33 am
There's also LUTCubeCreator.fuse and LUTCubeApply.fuse
Ah, I didn't know they had GPU code in them. Thanks!

User avatar
Aleksander
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:08 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#22

Post by Aleksander » Wed Mar 18, 2020 7:46 pm

This fuse definitely works on Fusion for me, and not just Resolve.

I tried it on windows also, and did see that error until I removed the 'const' as suggested. Now it works fine in fusion on windows, for me.

I edited my post to remove it, so it doesn't get copied around more.

Is anyone else still having trouble with it?

User avatar
Midgardsormr
Fusionator
Posts: 1591
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 8:04 pm
Answers: 11
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Been thanked: 51 times
Contact:

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#23

Post by Midgardsormr » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:06 am

Yep, that fixed it. @Shem Namo, I'm not sure when I'll find the time to do so, but I'll take another look at Tintensity soonish to verify everything is good in Fusion 16.

User avatar
Shem Namo
Fusionista
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: North Israel
Real name: David Kohen
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Fusion 16 GPU Fuse Development

#24

Post by Shem Namo » Thu Mar 19, 2020 10:49 am

aaahhh! :banghead: :banghead: :bmd:
That was the whole issue?
Well at least now I know that's it.
Thanks @Midgardsormr , Thanks @Aleksander!

I'll just take another look at the fuse, there is one thing I need to sort out.

Thanks again